NYCS First Impression Tucker Beathard ‘King’

Tucker Beathard

Tucker Beathard is an expert at taking personal journal entries and turning them into a lyrical masterpiece with unique music to accompany the heartfelt words. Unlike some artists in the genre, Beathard does not hide any part of who he is from his fans. From heartbreak to grief to joy, the singer-songwriter shares it all on his brand new record KING.

“I decided to name this album in honor of my little brother Clay, with King being his middle name,” Beathard shared via his social media, adding, “From top to bottom this album is a product of the highs and lows, and everything in between that the past few years have been. Through all of it, I’ve realized that at the end of the day there’s only one true King, and his kingdom is not of this world.”

This sentiment perfectly reflects the singer’s new project. Each of the thirteen tracks portrays a different journey that Beathard has experienced, and allows fans a deeper look into his soul and artistry. Songs like “Find Me Here” and “I Ain’t Without You” root the album in faith, which seems to be a driving force in the singer’s life.

One of the most poignant songs of the whole project is “I Ain’t Without You.” The heartbreaking, somber ballad once again leans on the power faith. Written about his late brother’s untimely passing, the singer-songwriter wrote the track with his father, fellow songwriter, Casey Beathard. Being able to write such a powerful and personal song is truly what Beathard does best. “So I keep holdin’ on with everything I got in me / To every piece of your memory so the world can see / I ain’t, I ain’t, I ain’t without you”

Of course, love and heartbreak also remain as pillars of Beathard’s unique musical style. In “Can’t Stay Here’ the recording artist sings about an on-again-off-again relationship, finally making the decision that decision to break-up and end the back and forth. The concept is relatable, yet heartbreaking. In the song, Beathard somehow finds a way to convey strength in a complicated and difficult situation, a talent that truly resonates across all his songs. “You Would Think” is another powerful tune that explores the intricacies of heartbreak.

“Faithful” and “Miss You Now” further explore love and heartbreak. The former is about a couple that is ready to give their all to each other, while the heart-pumping “Miss You Now” is full of Beathard’s signature, gritty voice as it explores all the things that you remind you of a person, but gently, the settings and the objects start to fade, yet the memories remain. Although written in memory of his brother, this song can easily be portrayed as a song about a romantic relationship too.

For fans that prefer the rock-country side of Beathard, “Better Than Me” and “Paper Town” are for you. The former is a previously released jam that pokes fun at the break-up tunes that were written during the punk-rock days of bands like Simple Plan and Blink 182. The music video makes the song really come to life, and it is the perfect track for live shows. “Paper Town” is another guitar-heavy tune that is made for long car rides with the windows down; despite, the deep and thought-provoking content. “Too Drunk” is another song, a drinking song, that fans must add to their car playlist.

Long time fans of Beathard might recognize one of our favorite tracks, “20/10 TN.” The song has been around for years, but the singer finally recorded it. The football-inspired song is full of imagery about love and redemption. “Just had to let you know, it’s 7-zip Tennessee / And by the way I meant to say, that I’m sorry ‘bout last night / I didn’t mean to make you cry / Did you really mean goodbye?”

Beathard is one of the most promising artists in the Nashville scene right now. He knows exactly who he is and the music he wants to release to fans. If he continues down this trajectory, we are confident that the singer will cement himself in country music history. KING is just another example of his one of a kind talent.

NYCS Picks:

  1. “20/10 TN”
  2. “Miss You Now”
  3. “I Ain’t Without You”

KING Tracklist:

  1. Better Than Me
  2. You Would Think
  3. One Upper
  4. 20/10 TN
  5. Paper Town
  6. You On
  7. Miss You Now
  8. Only
  9. Find Me Here
  10. Too Drunk
  11. Faithful
  12. Can’t Stay Here
  13. I Ain’t Without You

To keep up with Tucker Beathard follow him on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

King is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.




The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police, and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: