Tyler Hubbard’s Debut Self-titled Album – Album Review

Tyler Hubbard’s debut new album, Tyler Hubbard is out now, January 27th on all streaming platforms. Take a listen and read our full review below.

When many of the songs that appear on Tyler Hubbard’s debut solo album were being written, he was planning to pass them along to other artists. However, the more he wrote, the more he realized he was composing his own musical autobiography.

“I really set out to write this album for the fans who have allowed me to do what I love,” Hubbard says. “I wanted to make a country album that was authentic to who I am. I’m a husband, father, and man of faith, and these things all shape the stories I am telling through my music as a solo artist. I want to represent where I am today and where I’ve been as well.”

Once he decided to release a solo album, the EMI Nashville recording artist looked at the body of work he already had and began writing new songs to put together an album that best encompassed his story. “It’s a fun ride from top to bottom, and people really get to know me along the way,” He reveals of the self-titled project. “I hope these songs make listeners feel something.”

The former Florida Georgia Line frontman wrote or co-wrote all of the album’s 18 tracks, and co-produced the project with Jordan Schmidt. He also enlisted a host of famous friends to co-write on the album, including other artists such as Keith Urban, Canaan Smith, Russell Dickerson, Thomas Rhett, Bebe Rexha, and Old Dominion’s Trevor Rosen and Brad Tursi.

Songs that tell of who Hubbard is as a man include “Out This Way,” “How Red,” and “Small Town Me,” all which find Hubbard staying true to his roots. On “How Red,” he asks, “How red is your neck of the woods?,” while “Small Town Me” has him determined to not stray from who he’s always been. “It don’t matter where I am,” He proclaims, “I’ll always be, small town me.”

Likewise, “Paradise” and “35’s” both find the Georgia native slowing down to celebrate the simpler things in life, as he enjoys a simple romantic night with someone special on the former. “It’s like heaven as far as I can see, Ain’t no place I’d rather be.” He croons, “Than here with her, my whole world looks just like, paradise.”

On “Tough,” which Hubbard wrote while quarantined during Covid, he puts his own spin on the old adage that “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,” musing that “Whatever don’t kill you makes you tough.” 

His romantic side continues  throughout the album, weaving its way through songs like “Inside and Out,” “I’m the Only One, “She Can,” and “5 Foot 9.” On the lush “She Can,” he revels in the fact that “Nobody can quite love me like she can,” while “Inside Out” is more uptempo with its super catchy, singalong hook, as Hubbard proclaims:

“You’re the sun in my sky // you’re the sweet part of life // You go easy on the eyes // You’re so beautiful // From your head to your toes // in your heart and your soul // I hope you always know you’re so beautiful // Beautiful inside, inside and out // Inside, inside and out // You’re beautiful inside, inside and out, Inside, inside and out”

The album ends with a double dose of emotion, with “Way Home” immediately following the bittersweet “Miss My Daddy.” On “Daddy,” Hubbard deals with the loss of his father, who passed away in 2007, as he reflects on all the moments his father is missing in his life. “When I actually did share the song, my friends told me how encouraging it was and how real it was – that it meant a lot to them. When working with my team on the album, this song kept coming up as a powerful, emotional, vulnerable song, and we really didn’t have anything similar on the project. I decided that it was important for me to hopefully inspire and encourage people who have been through the same thing.”

Finally, “Way Home” is another poignant moment, finding Hubbard as the Prodigal Son, finding his way back to Jesus after losing his way. “Yeah, I got lost // Until I got found // Oh, and now that it’s well with my soul,” He sings on the sparse track. “I just ride in the seat next to Jesus // ‘Cause I know He knows the way home.”

For fans of FGL, Tyler Hubbard’s debut solo project doesn’t veer too far from what made them one of the genre’s biggest superstar duos. Yet, he pushes himself a bit further here, both musically and emotionally, in a way that’s sure to win over tons of new fans as well.

Tyler Hubbard Track List:

  1. Dancin’ In The Country (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Jon Nite, Ross Copperman, Keith Urban)
  2. 5 Foot 9 (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Jaren Johnston, Chase McGill)
  3. Baby Gets Her Lovin’ * (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Jesse Frasure, Canaan Smith)
  4. Everybody Needs A Bar (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt, Zach Kale)
  5. Me For Me (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Russell Dickerson, Thomas Rhett)
  6. Tough (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt, Bebe Rexha)
  7. I’m The Only One (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Chris Loocke, Rhett Akins)
  8. She Can (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Parker Welling, Casey Brown)
  9. Small Town Me (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Chris LaCorte)
  10. Inside And Out (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt, Trevor Rosen, Brad Tursi)
  11. Out This Way (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Chris LaCorte, Josh Miller)
  12. By The Way (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Corey Crowder, Canaan Smith)
  13. Paradise (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Rodney Clawson, Zach Kale)
  14. How Red (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Andy Albert, Tofer Brown)
  15. 35’s (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt, Michael Tyler)
  16. Leave Me Alone (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Ashley Gorley, Benjamin Johnson)
  17. Miss My Daddy (Written by Tyler Hubbard)
  18. Way Home (Written by Tyler Hubbard, Corey Crowder, Canaan Smith)

*Produced by Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt and Jesse Frasure

Country Swag Picks:

  1. “Inside Out”
  2. “5 Foot 9”
  3. “Small Town Me”
  4. “She Can”

Tyler Hubbard’s debut self-titled album is out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Tyler Hubbard releases.

To keep up with Tyler Hubbard, follow him on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Tyler Hubbard is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.