Florida Georgia Line: ‘Life Rolls On’ – Album Review

Trailblazing country duo, Florida Georgia Line released their fifth album, Life Rolls On today, February 12th. The record contains 16 tracks, six of which were a part of the 6-Pack EP, as well as the number-one hit, “I Love My Country” and their most recent top-15 single “Long Live.”

On January 1st, Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley shocked the country world when they announced the two of them will be focusing more on their solo careers going forward after the release of Life Rolls On. Although they confirmed it was not “a breakup,” fans are speculating when or if there will be new Florida Georgia Line music in the future, which makes this record that much more special.

“We’ve been on a 10-year journey together and we wouldn’t change it for the world,” Hubbard said in the announcement video. “We’re going to continue to make music as much we can—as a matter of fact, we’re probably going to be making even more music now. We created this freedom around ourselves where we can do whatever we want to do, creatively and musically…It’s a beautiful place to venture out and have a voice of our own and have individuality.”

Florida Georgia Line's new album 'Life Rolls On' is available everywhere now, February 12th

Florida Georgia Line’s new album ‘Life Rolls On’ is available everywhere now, February 12th

Fittingly so, this album’s main theme is nostalgia. Florida Georgia Line incorporates many songs that reflect on love and southern life, specifically the first two, “Long Live” and “Life Looks Good.” The latter is a feel-good, sing-along tune. Kelley backs Hubbard as he sings about laying on a blanket and looking at the stars with his better half. “Good To Me” is another track in which the two show their gratitude. Written by Hubbard, Kelley, Canaan Smith, and producer Corey Crowder, they admit they have made their fair share of mistakes, but God has always had their backs. Faith has been the focus of many Florida Georgia Line cuts recently, including “Drinkin’ Beer. Talkin’ God. Amen.” with Chase Rice and their collaboration project with Christian singer, Chris Tomlin.

Hubbard and Kelley make the love they have for their wives very apparent on this record, both emotionally and physically. The vulnerable “Second Guessing” from NBC’s Songland was featured on this album — the singer acknowledges his indecisiveness until he meets the woman who makes it all clear. In “Always Gonna Love You,” they compare the love they get from their wives to a cold beer after work and your team scoring a touchdown, assuring it will always be this way and their love is forever. “Hard To Get To Heaven,” “Eyes Closed,” and “Long Time Coming” are more steamy. All three songs describe the physical side of love, the latter being the most personal. In “Long Time Coming,” the singer explains that between the kids and his busy work schedule, they have not made enough time for themselves, and he can’t wait to share a glass of wine and get into bed with the love of his life.

The duo has always experimented with hip-hop beats, and this record is no different. In “Countryside,” “Ain’t Worried Bout It,” and “New Truck,” Hubbard and Kelley blend banjos and steel guitars with clap-tracks to create sounds that fans of all genres can enjoy.

The generally lighthearted record takes a turn with the final two songs, “U.S. Stronger” and “Life Rolls On.” The former was included on the 6-Pack EP and was inspired by COVID-19. Written by just Hubbard and Kelley, the two encourage listeners to help each other out during these trying times. The only way to beat this virus is to figuratively come together; perseverance is in the blood of all Americans. The latter reminds us that in good times or bad, God has a plan for us, and we are always right where we belong.

The decision to pursue solo projects as well as Florida Georiga Line may be an underlying message throughout this album. Several songs, such as “Always Gonna Love You” and the title track, can relate to their relationship. While we look forward to new music from Hubbard and Kelley individually, we are celebrating all the great projects they have created and the revolutionary impact they have had in country life and country music.

NYCS Picks:

  1. “Life Looks Good”
  2. “Good To Me”
  3. “New Truck”
  4. “Second Guessing”
  5. “Ain’t Worried Bout It”

Florida Georgia Line’s LIFE ROLLS ON Track Listing:

  1. Long Live” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, David Garcia, Josh Miller
  2. Life Looks Good” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Jaren Johnston
  3. Countryside” – Blake Redferrin, Jake Rose, Michael Whitworth
  4. Always Gonna Love You” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Ross Copperman, Corey Crowder, Michael Hardy
  5. I Love My Country” – Kane Brown, Corey Crowder, Chase McGill, Ernest Keith Smith, Ryan Vojtesak, Will Weatherly
  6. Hard To Get To Heaven” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Josh Thompson
  7. Long Time Comin’” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Jordan Schmidt, Canaan Smith
  8. Interlude” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder
  9. Ain’t Worried Bout It (Album Version)” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Dallas Davidson, Ben Hayslip    
  10. Beer:30” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Canaan Smith, Ernest Keith Smith
  11. New Truck” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Jeff Gitelman, Raysean Hairston, Blake Redferrin, Priscilla Renea
  12. Eyes Closed” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Ross Copperman, Corey Crowder, Michael Hardy
  13. Second Guessing (From Songland)” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Ester Dean, Andrew DeRoberts, Shane McAnally, Griffen Palmer, Ben Simonetti, Ryan Tedder, Geoff Warburton
  14. Good To Me” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Canaan Smith
  15. U.S. Stronger” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley
  16. Life Rolls On” – Ben Burgess, Alysa Vanderheym, Emily Weisband

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Florida Georgia Line releases.

To keep up with Florida Georgia Line, follow them on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

Life Rolls On is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.