NYCS First Impression: Florida Georgia Line

6-Pack Florida Georgia Line


Florida Georgia Line fans got to crack open the country duo’s latest six-track EP today (May 22nd), creatively titled 6-Pack. The extended play contains everything from fun, beer-drinking songs to gratitude-building ballads, giving listeners a taste of their much-anticipated fifth studio album due later this year. The men of Florida Georgia Line, Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley have co-written four of the six songs.

“This 6-Pack is like a variety pack – there is a little something for everybody: a love song, party songs, and songs that bring us together,” the group shared in a recent press release. “We’ve been working real hard in the studio, and are just super excited to have new music out.”

Some tracks on 6-Pack bring us back to the Here’s To the Good Times days of Florida Georgia Line while some give us “Talk You Out Of It” and “Blessings” vibes. “Beer:30” appropriately starts off the EP. Hubbard and Kelley talk over a simple background beat in the verses and pre-chorus, telling listeners it’s time to clock out and crack open a cold one. “Ain’t Worried ‘Bout It” gives fans another song to add to the summer-tailgate playlist. Mixed with a produced, hip-hop beat, this song is about letting loose and leaving all your worries behind. “Ain’t even gotta go big, we can small town it. As long as I got you, I ain’t worried ‘bout it,” the boys preach in the chorus.

Hubbard and Kelley were guests on Monday night’s episode on NBC’s Songland. As they were presented with four very promising tracks from four different aspiring songwriters, they chose Big Loud Publishing writer, Griffen Palmer’s “Second Guessing” to record. This is a love ballad in which the singer admits it’s common for him to overthink and second guess himself on big, life decisions, but with this special person, he doesn’t spend “one second guessing;” a clever play-on-words. Hubbard and Kelley knew this song had a lot of potential, which may be why they sent Palmer into the studio with Grammy winning songwriter, producer, and Songland host, Shane McAnally. McAnally knows a thing or two on how to craft a country hit. He has written and produced countless number one songs for artists such as Kacey Musgraves, Sam Hunt, Old Dominion, and many more over the years.

For Palmer, this is not his first major-label songwriting credit. The 24-year-old from Ontario, Canada co-wrote Keith Urban’s most recent release, “Polaroid.” “Being on Songland was such an incredible experience and learning opportunity for me as a songwriter,” Palmer confessed in a recent press release. “I still can’t believe that a band I’ve looked up to for so many years has chosen my song to record as their own. Being able to share this moment with friends and family on national television makes it all that much more special.”

In times when Florida Georgia Line explores new sounds and tries to blend different genres, they still find a way to incorporate elements of a country song. “Countryside” is simply a song about taking a ride with a girl to the countryside, but when combined with a strong bass beat and sprinkles of steel guitar, it creates an interesting sound that’s unique to only Florida Georgia Line.

The next track is the patriotic, uplifting tune our country needs right now. Titled “U.S. Stronger”, Hubbard and Kelley remind us that in times of hardship, war, and pandemics, our country has always come out on top. “What don’t take us, bend us, break us, makes us stronger,” they sing. “I Love My Country”, the lead single is another ode to our great nation. A Kane Brown co-write, the song has surpassed 14 million streams to date and is fast-approaching the top 10 at country radio. Their new music video comprises all fan-submitted clips of Americans just living life to the fullest. Watch it here:

Florida Georgia Line broke-out with their 11-time platinum smash hit, “Cruise”, and even though their original ‘bro-country’ style of music has faded, their songs continue to soar to the top of the charts. 6-Pack is a representation of just how creative and versatile Hubbard and Kelley truly are. As Florida Georgia Line continues to release lively, exciting, and dare we say, refreshing new music, they will remain as one of the most unique, vibrant, and successful acts in country music.

NYCS Picks:

  1. Ain’t Worried ‘Bout It
  2. Second Guessing
  3. U.S. Stronger


Track List:
1. “Beer:30” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Canaan Smith, Ernest Keith Smith

2. “Ain’t Worried Bout It” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Dallas Davidson, Ben Hayslip

3. “Second Guessing (From Songland)” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Ester Dean, Andrew    DeRoberts, Shane McAnally, Griffen Palmer, Benjamin Simonetti, Ryan Tedder, Geoff Warburton    

4. “Countryside” – Blake Redferrin, Jake Rose, Michael Whitworth  

5. “U.S. Stronger” – Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley

6. “I Love My Country” – Kane Brown, Corey Crowder, Chase McGill, Ernest Keith Smith, Ryan Vojtesak, Will Weatherly

 Keep up with Florida Georgia Line by following them on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

6-Pack is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.




The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: