Brothers Osborne: ‘Skeletons Deluxe’ – Album Review

Brothers Osborne’s new album Skeletons Deluxe is out now, January 21st on all streaming platforms. Listen to the new record below.

Originally released in October 2020, the Brothers Osborne third album, Skeletons, featured twelve tracks of the pure southern country-rock sound that fans have come to know of the duo. With TJ’s signature raspy growl paired with John’s incredible guitar skills, their unique sound shines on Skeletons.

Including the likes of “All Night” and “I’m Not for Everyone,” the Jay Joyce-produced Skeletons was a masterpiece in its original form. Today, however, the GRAMMY-nominated duo released a deluxe version of the album, featuring three new tracks, including the highly acclaimed “Younger Me.”

Nominated for the GRAMMY Award for Best Country Duo/Group Performance, “Younger Me” was inspired by TJ’s coming out in February 2021, making him the first major-label country artist to be openly gay. Written as a letter of reassurance to his younger self, the stirring ballad is one of country music’s most heartfelt tracks released in recent years.

“Younger me // Overthinking, losing sleep at night // Contemplating if it’s worth the fight,” TJ sings. “If he only knew he’d be alright // Yeah, younger me”

While “Younger Me” is arguably the most important track that the brilliant brothers have ever released, it should not completely overshadow the other two tracks released on this deluxe edition. There’s “Headstone,” a driving, guitar-driven uptempo track that reflects what the Brothers Osborne have become known for. Meanwhile, “Midnight Riders Prayer” received Willie Nelson’s personal blessing to include snippets from “On the Road Again.”

Featuring an incredible guitar solo at the halfway point, “Headstone” is sure to be a face-melter during live shows, as they extoll their own perfect imperfections, TJ proudly proclaiming “Write that on my headstone.” Meanwhile, “Midnight Riders Prayer” is an ode to the life of a touring musician. Sampling “On the Road Again” in a way that comes off completely organic, they meld Nelson’s classic rift into their own haunting chorus.

“When your night is ending // Ours is just beginning // On the road again,” They sing. “Like a band of gypsies, we roll down the highway… Brothers ‘til the end // Insisting that the world keep turning our way.”

While Skeletons was already an exemplary album, the three new tracks added to the deluxe album just make it all the more perfect.

Skeletons Deluxe Tracklist:

  1. Lighten Up (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk)
  2. All Night (John Osborne, TJ Osborne and Andrew DeRoberts)
  3. AAll the Good Ones Are (TJ Osborne, Lee Miller and Craig Wiseman)
  4. I’m Not for Everyone (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Luke Dick and Natalie Hemby)
  5. Skeletons (John Osborne, TJ Osborne and Andrew DeRoberts)
  6. Back On The Bottle (John Osborne, TJ Osborne and Hayes Carll)
  7. High Note (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Casey Beathard and Dustin Christensen)
  8. Muskrat Greene (John Osborne)
  9. Dead Man’s Curve (John Osborne, TJ Osborne and Lee Miller)
  10. Make It a Good One (John Osborne, TJ Osborne and Stephen Wilson Jr.)
  11. Hatin’ Somebody (John Osborne, TJ Osborne and Casey Beathard)
  12. Old Man’s Boots (John Osborne)
  13. Younger Me (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Kendell Marvel)
  14. Headstone (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Kendell Marvel)
  15. Midnight Rider’s Prayer (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Paul Moak, Willie Nelson)

Brothers Osborne’s new album ‘Skeletons Deluxe’ is out now, January 21st.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about upcoming Brothers Osborne announcements and releases.

To keep up with Brothers Osborne, follow them on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Skeletons Deluxe is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.