Blake Shelton: ‘Body Language Deluxe’ – Album Review

Country superstar, Blake Shelton released the deluxe version of his eleventh studio album Body Language on Friday (December 3), containing four new tracks including his current single “Come Back As A Country Boy.” Keep reading below as we discuss these tracks in more detail.

Blake Shelton has had a legendary career in country music, making him a celebrity inside the genre and out. With six platinum records, 28 number-one singles, and nine GRAMMY-nominations, Shelton will go down as one of the biggest artists in country music history. His ability to blend modern and traditional country sounds has allowed him to stay at the forefront of the genre.

Jordan Schmidt and HARDY received writing credits on the first two songs. “Come Back As A Country Boy” has a similar vibe to his 4x Platinum smash hit, “God’s Country,” paying homage to country life and the hard-working, small town folk. Like “God’s Country,” “Come Back As A Country Boy” contains backing steel-guitar and woodsy sounds. “Fire Up The Night” is tailgate party anthem which also features HARDY’s vocals. The two describe what needs to happen to get the good time started. Florida Georgia Line’s Brian Kelley also helped pen this song, along with Bart Butler.

The other two songs are placed on the back of the record. “Throw It On Back” is another fun, drinking tune featuring iconic 90s country duo, Brooks & Dunn. They discuss the feeling they get when they revert back to old-school items, styles, and songs. The project concludes with a love song Shelton co-wrote with Craig Wiseman titled “We Can Reach The Stars.”  Shelton sings about how strong the love is between him and his romantic partner and how it allows them to overcome even the most difficult of times.

Body Language Deluxe Tracklist:

  1. Come Back As A Country Boy
  2. Fire Up The Night (feat. HARDY)
  3. Minimum Wage
  4. Body Language (feat. The Swon Brothers)
  5. Happy Anywhere (feat. Gwen Stefani)
  6. Now I Don’t
  7. Monday Morning Missin’ You
  8. Corn
  9. Makin’ It Up As You Go
  10. Whatcha Doin’ Tomorrow
  11. The Girl Can’t Help It
  12. The Flow
  13. Neon Time
  14. Bible Verses
  15. Throw It On Back (feat. Brooks & Dunn)  
  16. We Can Reach The Stars

Blake Shelton releases the deluxe version of his album ‘body language’ out now.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about upcoming Blake Shelton announcements and releases.

To keep up with Shelton, follow him on InstagramTwitter, and  Facebook.

Body Language Deluxe is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.