Blake Shelton Releases Album Details & New Song “Jesus Got A Tight Grip”

Blake Shelton Jesus Got A Tight Grip


With less than two months until the December 13 release of Blake Shelton’s Fully Loaded: God’s Country, the country superstar and The Voice coach has released a new song, “Jesus Got a Tight Grip.” Co-written by Shelton, Rhett Akins, Jessi Alexander, and Chase McGill, the track is one of the five new tracks on Shelton’s forthcoming release. It will also feature seven of Shelton’s biggest hits, including “I’ll Name the Dogs,” “She’s Got a Way with Words,” and “I Lived It.”

The new track celebrates Shelton’s spiritual side while embracing his rebellious side. “I might have a little rust on my halo,” Shelton sings, “But when I’m gone, I know where I’ll go, ‘Cause Jesus got a tight grip on my soul.” He continues to admit that he’s “a little more cold beer than holy water” and “more Saturday night on an old bar stool than a Sunday morning pew.” The song is quintessential Shelton, combining cleverly humorous lyrics with a mid-tempo country melody that is sure to become an anthem for fans who have an angel on one shoulder and a devil on the other.

In addition to releasing Fully Loaded: God’s Country, Shelton is currently appearing on the 17th season of The Voice, as the sole remaining judge from the show’s first season. It was recently announced that he’ll return for season 18, alongside Kelly Clarkson, John Legend, and newcomer Nick Jonas.

He’ll also hit the road next year on an arena tour, titled “Friends and Heroes 2020,” that will include appearances by Lauren Alaina, The Bellamy Brothers, John Anderson, and Trace Adkins. Visit for more information on ticket sales and exclusive VIP packages.

1. God’s Country
2. Hell Right (feat. Trace Adkins)
3. Nobody But You
4. Came Here to Forget
5. She’s Got a Way with Words
6. A Guy With a Girl
7. Every Time I Hear That Song
8. I’ll Name the Dogs
9. I Lived It
10. Turnin’ Me On
11. Jesus Got a Tight Grip
12. Tequila Sheila

To keep up with Blake Shelton, follow him on TwitterInstagram, and Facebook.

“Jesus Got a Tight Grip” is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.



The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: