Wyatt Flores: ‘Life Lessons’ – Review

Wyatt Flores releases his brand new project, Life Lessons, out now, November 17th on all streaming platforms. Listen to the new music here.

With a voice and style way beyond his 22 years, country newcomer Wyatt Flores is garnering quite a buzz for his country-folk stylings. Much like Zach Bryan and Noah Kahan, Flores uses an emotive voice, poetic lyrics, and his guitar to fill his songs with the type of magical X-factor that’s not quite describable. 

Today, the Oklahoma native released his latest project, Life Lessons. On the seven song collection, the young singer-songwriter sounds like a seasoned vet, telling tales of life in Stillwater, OK. He manages to add an uncanny maturity to his youthful take on life, while still sharing the trappings of his life thus far.

”I’m so excited to put these stories of my life into y’all’s hands. I hope that this project helps others choose a different path and one that only you can choose,” He shares in a statement. “It’s never gonna be easy and life isn’t fair but never let this world tell you how to live.”

The lyrics on the EP sum up the fact that life isn’t easy or fair, but do so in a way that’s incredibly poetic and enrapturing. “Orange Bottles” offers an especially poignant moment, beginning with a voicemail from Flores’ mother checking in, as he lyrically documents life on the road as a touring artist. “I’m so numb I can’t tell if I’m alive,” He admits. “Yeah who am I kidding? Who have I become?”

Meanwhile, “3/13” finds him apologetic and remorseful, too drunk to keep his promises as he apologizes to someone who’s always his go-to, even as he crawls from a wrecked car. “I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me after all,” He growls, voice full of emotion. “I’m sorry you’re always my last call”

“Wildcat” is somewhat of a departure for the singer, a swinging and toe-tapping uptempo that is sure to be a crowd pleaser. Here he plants his tongue firmly in cheek as he recounts life in a “Friday Night Lights” sort of town adding a twist as not being a player on the team, but the team’s mascot. “I never was a macho man, but I made the folks laugh in the stands,” He sings playfully over the swinging melody.

On the previously-released “West of Tulsa” and “Holes,” Flores continues his confessional style with “West” finding him waking up in a new town, another face in the crowd. “’Cause I’ve been a girl’s last call when the bar’s closin’ down // I’ve been a guy on stage to the face in the crowd,” He sings. “Somethin’ ’bout wakin’ up in a cheap hotel // Makes me wanna be somebody to somebody else.”

Likewise “Life Lessons” and the project’s closing track “Astronaut” are relatively sparse, finding him looking inwards at his life, where he’s been and where he’s going. “Grandpa dropped out of school in the fifth grade // Grandma barely made it past the eighth // So maybe it’s alright if I only made it two weeks at Oklahoma state,” He muses, voice simultaneously laced with sarcasm and sincerity. “The kind of learning that I’m looking for // Ain’t written out on a whiteboard//I’m taking life lessons.”

On Life Lessons, Wyatt Flores proves that he’s one of music’s most promising young stars. With a poetic writing style and a passionate emotive voice, it’s only a matter of time before he’s a household name. Life Lessons is just the first chapter of what is sure to be an incredible journey for the young artist.

Life Lessons EP Tracklist:

  1. Orange Bottles
  2. Life Lessons
  3. Wildcat
  4. 3/13
  5. West of Tulsa
  6. Holes
  7. Astronaut

Country Swag Picks:

  1. Astronaut
  2. Wildcat
  3. Life Lessons

Wyatt Flores shares brand new EP, ‘Life Lessons,’ out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Wyatt Flores releases.

For tour dates and more, visit the singer-songwriter’s website here.

To keep up with Wyatt Flores, follow him on InstagramTwitter, TikTok, and Facebook.

Life Lessons EP is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.