Wyatt Flores: ‘Half Life’ – EP Review

Wyatt Flores’ brand new EP, Half Life is out now, April 19th on all streaming platforms. Check out our full review and listen to the brand new music below.

If you haven’t heard of Wyatt Flores yet, it’s time you hop on the bandwagon; no country artist’s popularity has grown as fast as this Oklahoma-native’s. After releasing his seven-track EP, Life Lessons, he dropped another collection of eight songs just six months later. Like all of Flores’ lyrics, they are passionate, hard-hitting, and real, allowing listeners to get to know the 22-year-old on a personal level.

“These songs capture my perspective on relationships I’ve had with my family, friends, love, music, mental health, life, and death over the past couple years. I still have a lot of learning and growing to do at 22 but I’m thankful for everyone who’s ever given my music a chance,” he gratefully posted on Instagram. “I hope these songs help you with whatever you might be going through and remind you that you’re not alone in whatever it is you’re facing.”

No song is heavier than the title track. Directed to his family, he sings about the regret of leaving home to chase his dream without calling, and his addiction and how it affected his relationship with his now deceased father. He apologizes for living only a “half-life.” The opening track, “Running Out of Time,” speaks on making the most out of life. Sang from the funeral of someone close to him (likely his father), he says we have to hold the ones we love and do what makes you feel alive before we all die. Our time on this earth is short, and we must make the most of it. The most powerful lyric comes in the second verse, “Most people die at twenty-seven, get buried at seventy-two.”

The EP contains the previously released tracks, “Wish I Could Stay,” and “Milwaukee.” The former is the most light-hearted tune on the album. The singer talks about the difficulty of leaving the one you love; if he could keep her in his arms forever, he would. In “Milwaukee,” the singer feels remorse about his past relationship but wants to assure her it wasn’t for a lack of love. He also included his cover of The Fray’s “How To Save A Life” on the project. Just when you think a song couldn’t get more emotional, Flores adds his raw vocals to it, making listeners tear up almost twenty years after its initial release.

At the end of the project are “I Believe in God” and “Devil,” two extremely powerful songs. In the first, the singer confesses he is having a hard time connecting to his faith because he feels God lost faith in him. The latter is about a relationship, but not one with another human, the one with himself. He constantly fights with his inner thoughts when he’s lonely, singing in the bridge:

“Why do you find me at the worst times, just when I thought I was doin’ fine? // You wanna put a gun to my head and turn that ceilin’ red // Well, I won’t let you steal my soul // God damn lonely, just leave me alone”

At 22, most people are finishing college and discovering who they are and what they want to do for the rest of their life. Although Flores took a different route, he’s on the same path, which makes his music so relatable to others. From love, death, and mental health, there are a lot of intense themes for someone so young to explore, but they are real, and hearing someone overcome these hardships will aid others who are struggling with similar problems. The future is bright for the new singer-songwriter, and it’s only a matter of time before country fans all over the world know the voice of Wyatt Flores.

“I’m only getting one chance at life, so I try to be present,” he states in a recent press release. “There’s more to existence than what the average person experiences. No matter how old or young you are, life is here and gone. Death is always riding in the passenger seat. You can either be friends with it or make it an enemy. I choose to be friends with it. If you know that and start questioning what you’re doing, maybe you’ll go out and live a better life.”

Half Life Tracklist

  1. Running Out Of Time
  2. Half Life
  3. Wish I Could Stay
  4. Milwaukee
  5. If I Don’t See You Again
  6. I Believe In God
  7. How To Save A Life
  8. Devil

Wyatt Flores shares his brand new EP, ‘Half Life,’ out now on all streaming platforms.

In celebration of the new music, Flores will embark on his “Here, There & Gone” headline tour this summer with shows in the middle, western, and southern parts of the United States. For tickets, head to his website. 

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news and announcements about future Wyatt Flores releases.

To keep up with Wyatt Flores, follow him on InstagramTwitter, TikTok, and Facebook.

Half Life is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.