Miranda Lambert: ‘Palomino’ – Album Review

Miranda Lambert’s brand new album, Palomino is out now, April 29th on all streaming platforms. Take a listen and read our full review below.

Out today, April 29, Miranda Lambert’s Palomino is a welcomed breath of fresh air. The fifteen track collection shows Lambert doing what she does best. She’s authentically herself, exploring different sounds and topics in a way that never feels fraudulent or forced. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. Here, she co-wrote all but one track, enlisting frequent collaborators including Luke Dick, Jon Randall, and Natalie Hemby to take listeners on a uniquely magical journey. 

On her eighth studio album, the singer-songwriter is fully in her element. The album is definitely more of the rootsy, no-frills Lambert that was evidenced on 2021’s The Marfa Tapes, as opposed to the glitz and glamor from the days of “Little Red Wagon.” Palomino is a mature and cohesive offering, sure to delight fans and non-fans alike.

“The making of this record has been one of the most fun and creative experiences of my career,” reflects Lambert in a statement. “…The first one we wrote was ‘Tourist’ and that set us on a path to create something with a bit of a theme. Since we couldn’t travel at the time, we decided to go on a journey through songs… I hope y’all are ready to travel with us wandering spirits and meet some cool characters with great stories.”

On that inspired track, Lambert takes on the role of the tourist, wandering aimlessly with no place to go. “I’m just a tourist // I don’t know where I belong // It might sound foolish // Yeah, but nowhere feels like home // So I roam from town to town // Taking snapshots of the world // And I laugh away the lonely // And give a local bar a whirl // And I wanna see it all so I keep movin’ // I’m just a tourist.”

Throughout Palomino, listeners will meet an array of characters, including “Geraldene” on the earwormy song of the same name, one of the album’s surefire hits. “Music City Queen” features the B-52s and introduces listeners to another array of unique souls, punctuated by a recognizable piano solo. Likewise, despite being the sole song on the album not written by Lambert, the Mick Jagger cover of “Wandering Spirit” is a clear standout coming right at the album’s midpoint. Joined by the McCrary Sisters, Lambert explores Gospel-twinged country, her wandering spirit seemingly inspired by something divine.

The twangy “Scenes” is the perfect example of the premise of the album, Lambert doing “anything to forget about you.” She’s moving from scene to scene here, meeting the likes of Dwayne and Katie with a K, as she tries to ban an ex from her memory. Meanwhile, the twangy “I’ll Be Loving You” finds Lambert admitting that “I’ll be loving you, No matter where I roam.”

Interestingly, “In His Arms,” “Geraldene,” and “Waxahachie” all make second, slightly updated appearances, after originally being released on the aforementioned Marfa Tapes record. Yet, they fit in perfectly here. 

While Lambert takes sonic and lyrical risks on Palomino, she never strays too far from what has endeared her to the country genre since the earliest days of her career. This is evidenced on tracks such as the feisty “Actin’ Up,” the tongue-in-cheek “Country Money,” and nostalgic “If I Was a Cowboy.” Another highlight is “That’s What Makes the Jukebox Play,” finding the singer-songwriter in the narrator role as she observes the goings-on in a bar, and how they inspire the music found in a jukebox. It’s a poignant and moving take that can’t be ignored.

The album ends on a magical moment, with the ethereal and sparse “Carousel,” finding Lambert grappling with the fact that all good things must end. “Every show must end // Every circus leaves town // You don’t know the magic’s gone // Until the lights go down.”

Miranda Lambert’s Palomino is a concise and compelling piece of art, finding the Texan songstress experimenting with new sounds and coloring outside the musical lines as she takes listeners on a journey. Lambert has always excelled at being a bit of a rebel, and she does it here, but in the best way possible. She isn’t chasing trends or hits, but remaining true to her musical passions and desires. 

Palomino Track List

  1. “Actin’ Up” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Jon Randall)
  2. “Scenes” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
  3. “In His Arms” (Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall)
  4. “Geraldene” (Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall)
  5. “Tourist” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
  6. “Music City Queen” feat. The B-52’s (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
  7. “Strange” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
  8. “Wandering Spirit” (Mick Jagger, James Rippeto)
  9. “I’ll Be Lovin’ You” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Jon Randall)
  10. “That’s What Makes the Jukebox Play” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
  11. “Country Money” (Miranda Lambert, Aaron Raitiere, Mikey Reaves)
  12. “If I Was a Cowboy” (Miranda Lambert, Jesse Frasure)
  13. “Waxahachie” (Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall)
  14. “Pursuit of Happiness” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
  15. “Carousel” (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)

Miranda Lambert’s new album ‘Palomino’ is out now.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news and announcements about future Miranda Lambert releases.

To keep up with Miranda Lambert, follow her on TwitterInstagram, and Facebook.

Palomino is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.