Dustin Lynch: ‘Blue In The Sky’ – Album Review

Dustin Lynch’s new album, Blue In The Sky is out now, February 11th on all streaming platforms. Learn about the album below.

Things are looking sunny for Dustin Lynch today, February 11, as he releases Blue In The Sky, his fifth studio album with Broken Bow Records. With twelve new tracks, five of which he co-wrote, the Zach Crowell-produced collection features a perfect combination of party anthems and heartfelt ballads.

“Get ready for a collection of songs that are going to make you feel good and want to mix a drink and party with your friends,” shares Lynch in a statement. He kicks the album off with a bang, opening with the rousing up-tempo “Party Mode,” that, in many ways, feels like it’s setting the stage for his tour of the same name. Lynch tells American Songwriter that that song came to him just after a break up. “Breakups suck, but they’re not always a bad thing. You can fulfill yourself and feel excited again about life and what life holds and all the unknowns,” he said. “‘Party Mode’ was sent to me right after that window of time. It was a perfect match for where I was, and getting to do a lot of living out on the boats because we weren’t touring as much, so it just fit perfectly.”

Another stage-ready anthem is “Stars Like Confetti,” co-written by Thomas Rhett. “Baby you were glowin’ // God was throwin’ // Stars like confetti,” Lynch sings of a night under the stars with a special lady over an earwormy melody that is sure to get stuck in your head.

Meanwhile, “Somethin’ That Makes You Smile” is a song that’s perfect for the crazy world we’re living in, celebrating the simpler things in life. “Whatever it is, ya better get to it,” He sings, reminding listeners to enjoy whatever it is that makes them smile, whether it’s working on a car, fishing, or a drink with friends.

Lynch enlists some of his famous friends to join him on Blue In The Sky, including MacKenzie Porter on the previously released chart-topper “Thinking ‘Bout You.” Additionally, Chris Lane trades verses with the singer on the tropics-laden “Tequila on a Boat” and Riley Green joins for “Huntin’ Land.”  While the former is an ode to exactly what the title implies, the latter takes listeners on a clever lyrical journey. “Huntin’ Land” is a more traditional country song, a bit tongue-in-cheek as Lynch and Green trade verses about an annoying girlfriend whose “daddy has huntin’ land.” If he breaks her heart, he’ll lose access to a favorite pastime, so he might just stick around.

While Lynch may feel at home on party songs, he shines on the slower tracks, including “Pasadena” and “Not Every Cowboy.” On the almost etheral “Pasadena,” Lynch reminisces about a short fling that could’ve been so much more, but slipped away. The track is only made better by gorgeous background vocals from the incomparable Sarah Buxton.

Meanwhile, “Not Every Cowboy” is the album’s final track, a slow ballad that is both poignant and memorable. Here, he’s trying to prove he’s not like all the other cowboys. “Girl, I bet your momma warned you  // ’bout guys like me // And this outlaw in my blood  // Ain’t a wildcard up my sleeve // ‘Cause I ain’t a silhouette Stetson // Heading out west // In a red sunset // and taking your heart with me // So let me show you // that not every cowboy leaves”

On Blue In the Sky, Dustin Lynch offers a solid follow-up to 2020’s Tullahoma. With songs like “Stars Like Confetti ” and “Pasadena,” Lynch is out to prove that he’s “Not Every Cowboy.”

Blue in the Sky Tracklist:

  1. “Party Mode” (Jerry Flowers, Ryan Beaver, Roman Alexander, Jared Keim, Matt McGinn)
  2. “Thinking ’Bout You (feat. MacKenzie Porter)” (Dustin Lynch, Andy Albert, Hunter Phelps, Will Weatherly)
  3. “Stars Like Confetti” (Josh Thompson, Thomas Rhett, Zach Crowell)
  4. “Somethin’ That Makes You Smile” (Erik Dylan, Andy Sheridan, Wyatt McCubbin)
  5. “Break It On A Beach” (Dustin Lynch, Ashley Gorley, Hunter Phelps, Zach Crowell)
  6. “Tequila On A Boat (feat. Chris Lane)” (Hillary Lindsey, Justin Ebach, Matt Alderman)
  7. “Tennessee Trouble” (Dustin Lynch, Matt Dragstrem, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Minton)
  8. “Summer Never Ended” (Cole Taylor, Ben Hayslip, Paul DiGiovanni)
  9. “Back Road TN” (Ben Hayslip, Brock Berryhill, Jameson Rodgers, Brent Anderson)
  10. “Huntin’ Land (feat. Riley Green)” (Dustin Lynch, Andy Albert, Hunter Phelps, Will Weatherly)
  11. “Pasadena” (Dustin Lynch, Jeff Hyde, Ryan Tyndell)
  12. “Not Every Cowboy” (Casey Brown, Parker Welling, Conner Smith, Heather Morgan)

Dustin Lynch’s new album, ‘Blue in the Sky’ is out now.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about upcoming Dustin Lynch announcements and releases.

To keep up with Dustin Lynch, follow him on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Blue In The Sky is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.