Ashland Craft: ‘TRAVELIN’ KIND’ – Album Review

Ashland Craft’s debut album, TRAVELIN’ KIND is available everywhere today, September 3rd. Craft penned nine out of the eleven original tracks on the one-of-a-kind record. Check out the full review and listen to the new music below.

Big Loud Records recording artist Ashland Craft is a true star in the making. The songstress utilizes her one of a kind vocals to showcase true heart and grit. Up until now we have only heard bits and pieces of Craft’s talent in her single releases, but now the wait for a full length project is finally over. Today the singer-songwriter dropped her debut album TRAVELIN’ KIND.

The record is a culmination of all of life’s experiences and adventures. Having written nine out of the eleven tracks, Craft has felt each of these songs and experiences deeply herself. “I really wanted this project to capture all the little sides of life in general that we’re kinda going through right now and what we have gone through recently because I think real life is the best way to connect with people,” shared the entertainer in an exclusive interview with Country Swag.

TRAVELIN’ KIND kicks off with the title track. Almost instantly, the listener knows that this record is going to take you on the ultimate journey. “Your Momma Still Does,” one of the two outside cuts off the record delivers the sentiment of heartbreak in a new and innovative way. Craft’s soulful and gritty tone is on full display on arguably one of the best songs on the project.

“Bet you don’t even think about picking up the phone // You don’t even think about saying you were wrong // You don’t even miss what me and you had // Yeah, I bet you don’t even think about that // You don’t even call me saying your sorry, you messed up // Yeah, but your momma still does”

Next up, “Leavin’ You Again” portrays how it feels to break-up again with someone you gave a second chance to. Craft delivers an emotive, yet cheeky delivery of the somber lyrics. In the same vein, one of the previously released singles, “Make It Past Georgia,” portrays angst too. The song conveys the heartbreaking connection between people and places. The songstress sings about traveling through state to state, but still having a hard time when she hits Georgia, a state that houses memories of a broken relationship. Craft’s honesty and vulnerability shine through on the track.

“Oh I never had trouble leaving them behind me // Oh it never took much to move on // I left Texas in the red dirt dust // It was easy leaving Louisiana // I hit 80 in a 55 // Just trying to cross Alabama line // Don’t miss a thing about Mississippi / Carolina keeps calling me // But I can’t seem to make it past Georgia”

Craft picks up the tempo on the center track, “Last 20 Dollars.” The fun-loving, 90s inspired country jam showcases the sassier side of the budding star. Similarly, both “Mimosas In The Morning” and “Come Down” show Craft shedding her more cynical side, and cracking the door open for love. All three songs feature incredible wordplay and storytelling.

“Highway Like Me” featuring Marcus King, another personal favorite off the project is a songwriter’s dream. Craft lays her heart out for fans in this poetic and beautiful song. She compares herself to a highway in a way that is ethereal and raw. Moreover, if you are not convinced by now of Craft’s talent, you will be after listening to this song and hearing her incredible vocals.

“That’s The Kinda Place” perfectly sits in the last spot of the tracklist. It wraps up all the stories Craft tells in the previous ten songs. It feels inviting, relatable, and homey, all ways country music is made to feel.

As a new artist, Ashland Craft manages to deliver a debut album that leaves us fully satisfied, yet still yearning for more. Kudos to Craft and her team for this masterpiece. Country fans, mark our words now: Craft is a superstar in the making.

Ashland Craft’s TRAVELIN’ KIND Track List:

  1. Travelin’ Kind” (Ashland Craft, Erik Dylan)
  2. Your Momma Still Does” (Jenna LaMaster, Jonathan Singleton)
  3. Leavin’ You Again” (Ashland Craft, Jenna LaMaster, Faren Rachels)
  4. Make It Past Georgia” (Ashland Craft, Reid Isbell, Willie Morrison)
  5. Last 20 Dollars” (Ashland Craft, Wyatt Beasley Durrette, III, Jonathan Singleton)
  6. Highway Like Me (feat. Marcus King)” (Ashland Craft, Jessi Alexander, Reid Isbell)
  7. Mimosas In The Morning” (Ashland Craft, Jessie Jo Dillon, Jonathan Singleton
  8. Day By Day” (Tori Allen, Corey Grogan)
  9. Letcha Fly” (Ashland Craft, Willie Morrison, Lee Starr)
  10. Come Down” (Ashland Craft, Adam Hood, Rob Snyder)
  11. That’s The Kinda Place” (Ashland Craft, Rodney Clawson, Jonathan Singleton)

Country Swag Picks:

  1. “Your Momma Still Does”
  2. “Highway Like Me”
  3. “Make It Past Georgia”
  4. “Mimosas In The Morning”

Ashland Craft’s debut album ‘TRAVELIN’ KIND’ is officially out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about upcoming Ashland Craft announcements and releases.

To keep up with Ashland Craft, follow her on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

TRAVELIN’ KIND is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.