NYCS First Impression: Jason Aldean 4 Brand New Songs

Jason Aldean 9

The three-time ACM Entertainer of the Year, Jason Aldean released four new songs from his upcoming studio album, 9 on Monday featuring “Blame It on You”, “Keeping It Small Town”, “I Don’t Drink Anymore” as well as the album’s lead single, “We Back”. He also announced that the 9 will be released on November 22nd.

“Early on I always thought if we ever got to make nine albums, I’m going to call it ‘9.’ It was my baseball number growing up, and it’s just kind of always been my lucky number,” Aldean explained in a recent press release. “I remember cutting the first album and thinking ‘that’s forever away,’ and now here we are.”

“Blame It on You” is a breakup song in which Aldean interprets all the reasons why his significant other could’ve left him. Aldean is very down on himself the entire song and out of all the things that could take the fault, one thing is certain that she is not to blame. Tully Kennedy, Michael Tyler, Kurt Allison, John Edwards & Brian White all contributed to writing this song.

“I could go on and on / On why you’re gone / I could blame it on the whiskey / I wouldn’t blame you if you didn’t even miss me”

“Keeping It Small Town”, penned by Ben Hayslip, Jaron Boyer & “Whiskey Glasses” singer, Morgan Wallen, is Aldean connecting to his southern roots. He simply sings about the day in the life of a small town, blue collar worker.

“It’s the way we were raised and we ain’t changing now / You can find us sun up to sun down yeah / Just keeping it small town”

“I Don’t Drink Anymore” is another breakup song with a slower melody but more gratifying lyrics. In this song, written by Neil Thrasher, Kelley Lovelace & CJ Solar, the girlfriend in the story doesn’t like his excessive drinking and partying so one day she finally says ‘it’s me or them’. The lyrics continue  “I don’t drink any more and I don’t drink any less,” meaning he won’t drink more than he used to but won’t stop completely either. It’s kind of a funny, sarcastic way of saying ‘You can’t change who I am’.

“I didn’t want her to go / And it’s not that I don’t give a damn / I just want someone to want me /
For who I am”

The title, “We Back” explains itself, Jason Aldean brought the party and is back with new music. This is a country-rock track with a heavy electric guitar. Aldean has been including this in his sets throughout the second half of the Ride All Night Tour. This song was penned by Brad and Brett Warren, hit-songwriter Jordan Schmidt and Florida Georgia Line’s Tyler Hubbard.

“When I came into Country music and made my mark, it was with a banger,” Aldean added. “But we haven’t put out a lot of that stuff over the last couple years. So we got this song and to me it just says what it says: ‘Thought we were gone, but you’re wrong – now it’s on.’”

“We back, we back, we back in the speakers / Back in black getting blasted in the bleachers”

These four are a taste of what is to come on his forthcoming, ninth studio album. Aldean

To keep up with Jason Aldean, follow him on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

All four songs from the album ‘9’ are now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist.



The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: