Rayne Johnson Debut, Self-titled EP – Review

Rayne Johnson’s brand new debut self-titled EP is available now, October 30th on all streaming platforms. Take a look below as we dig a little deeper into the collection of songs.

About a year ago, we introduced our followers to a promising new talent in the industry.  Swag Spotlight alum, Rayne Johnson is an incredible budding singer-songwriter. His debut single “Front Seat” was a smash hit with fans and radio, but his brand new self-titled EP, out today, is an even bigger accomplishment.

The nine-track record is fans’ first look at a full catalog of songs by the rising artist. Johnson combines his love for country music and R&B music on this cohesive project. The record shines both lyrically and production-wise, completely leaning into both of those diverse influences.

“I want [fans] to actually hear the story,” Johnson shares in a recent press release, “Country’s my favorite genre, but I love R&B too. I’m trying to bring some of that style to country storytelling. I’m translating who I am through the lyrics and the music. Hopefully, fans can relate.”

The introductory track “Bring It Back” embodies both of those genres. Lyrically, the song is about a couple trying to bring love back to the good ole days. Johnson sings about holding hands, the meaning behind “I love you,” and of course back when Merle Haggard was on the radio. It definitely has radio appeal, and we are certain that fans are going to want to jam to it.

“Like holdin’ your hand on an old porch swing // Lovin’ like Janis loved Bobby McGee / Like Jack and Diane all over again / Let’s bring it back”

Johnson’s current radio single “Real Dang Good” stays with the upbeat nature of the first track. With traditional country production and relatable lyrics, the single is the feel-good tune that we all need right now. Switching gears, the record transitions into a slower song, the singer’s debut single “Front Seat.” The charted song shows the entertainer’s softer side, leaning into the romantic nature of the message behind the catchy lyrics.

Rayne Johnson

Rayne Johnson’s self-titled debut EP is available everywhere now, October 30th

The record continues to transition into a more mid-tempo vibe. Both “Same Boat” and “Laid Back” feature clever lyrics. “Same Boat” showcases camaraderie between our generations, while “Laid Back” is a cheeky, fun-loving song that encourages not taking yourself or all music too seriously.

For fans who prefer the more vulnerable side of Johnson, both “Last Name” and “Love ‘Em While You Can” definitely fit the bill. The former is a romantic love song created for people who have a hard time expressing their feelings, but the latter is one of our absolute favorites. The sentimental and heart-wrenching song is all about appreciating the people in your life, while they are still here. He reminds us all that life is a precious gift that we shouldn’t take for granted. Through this song, it is clear that Johnson knows a thing or two about grief and pain.

“So love ‘em while you can / Cause life’s too short not to give a damn / Love ‘em while you can / Cause you might not get a second chance to / Tuck in your babies, make sure they’re okay / Hold ‘em tight cause this life will get crazy”

Overall, Johnson’s debut EP is a solid representation of his artistry. The singer delivers a fresh new take on topics like love, loss, and fun while remaining true to his influences and his roots.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Rayne Johnson releases.

To keep up with Rayne Johnson follow him on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

NYCS Picks:

  1. “Love ‘Em While You Can”
  2. “Bring It Back”
  3. “Front Seat”

Rayne Johnson EP Tracklist:

  1. Bring It Back
  2. Real Dang Good
  3. Front Seat
  4. Same Boat
  5. Laid Back
  6. Last Name
  7. A Little Goes A Long Way
  8. Love ‘Em While You Can
  9. Lips Like Liquor

Rayne Johnson EP is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.





The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. Specially selected foundations that support our heroes will receive donations from each purchase. Honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice is what we are dedicated to.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: