NYCS First Impression: Tyler Farr ‘Only Truck In This Town’

Tyler Farr EP

Tyler Farr hit the ground running amidst the mud and the backroads since the five years since his last album release Suffer In Peace. Known for hits “A Guy Walks Into A Bar” and “Whiskey In My Water,” Farr has released his long-awaited EP Only Truck In Town this past Friday.

The title-track “Only Truck In Town” is heavily guitar-stricken, highlighting Farr’s raspy vocals in this backroads love song. This past Saturday, June 6th, the official music video for the track premiered on CMT’s Hot 20 Countdown.

“Soundtrack to a Small Town Sundown” takes on an oppositional vibe from the kickoff track with picked fretwork and a mid-tempo beat. It discusses the impact of music, the powerful connotation it can, or cannot hold. Every moment, every story, every town owns a curated soundtrack. One song can take you back anywhere. He sings: “Should’ve heard it in a parking lot dark // Like a match lighting backseat sparks // I knew I had her when the Silverado speakers started singing what I couldn’t // What I should’ve, yeah // Should’ve heard the first time I kissed her // Just don’t sound the same now // That light, it was perfect, it was like a soundtrack to a small town sundown.”

“I Wish Dogs Could Live Forever” catches your attention immediately because who doesn’t wish their pet could live with them forever. It’s a confessional ballad that expresses all the memories that the protagonist and their dog would do together while the chorus lists all heartbreaking things that he wishes wouldn’t happen. “Heaven In Dirt” closes out the EP with its immense contemporary country influences.

“You got me flying on a cloud right now // The way you look in that rearview sure makin’ me want to // Pull it over, maybe slow it on down // Let your wild go crazy, slide on over here baby // Take our time, let the night get to work // Girl, you’re makin’ these backroads feel like heaven on dirt”

The singer shared his excitement on Instagram on the EP’s release date noting, “After 5 years, I’m proud to say my new EP is out! My buddy @jasonaldean produced it and I’m excited for y’all to give it a listen. You’ve really been patient and I can’t thank you enough for the support all these years. Check out #OnlyTruckInTown at the link in my bio.”

Aldean also expressed his excitement writing, “The EP is out today just to give you a taste of what is coming your way. Crank it!”

Nearing the end of the COVID-19 stay-at-home orders, this disease has really hit home for Farr. His wife is a critical care nurse who worked in the COVID unit in Franklin, Tennessee. He’s been an avid advocate for frontline workers and essential workers.

To keep up with Tyler Farr follow him on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Only Truck In Town Tracklist

1. Only Truck In Town — Ben Hayslip, Deric Ruttan, Josh Thompson

2. Soundtrack To A Small Town Sundown — Jonathan Singleton, Jon Nite

3. I Wish Dogs Could Live Forever — Neil Thrasher, Kelley Lovelace

4. Heaven On Dirt — Jeremy Bussey, Taylor Phillips, Jordan Rager, Michael Tyler

Only Truck In Town EP is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.



The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police, and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: