NYCS First Impression & Exclusive Interview: Mo Pitney ‘Ain’t Lookin’ Back’

Mo Pitney

Sophomore records are often the ones that make or break an artist, but for rising talent, Mo Pitney, his newest project, Ain’t Lookin’ Back is even more intriguing than his debut. The singer-songwriter knows his sound and his fanbase and delivers exactly what we want, a true-blue country album laced with a wide range of influences.

“So I took a long time to make the second album for a number of reasons,” Pitney began during our exclusive interview with the artist, “I wanted to find out how to have a common thread from the first album to the second album, but being open to introducing all of my influences and let them meet in one place.” It is safe to say that he accomplished that feat with this record.

Opening up with “A Music Man,” Pitney wastes no time showcasing his one of a kind talent. The single is a beautiful story about feeling like God put him on Earth to play music. The beautiful “three chords and the truth” song is everything fans could want to kick off the project.

Pitney continued to transition his vocal skills into a series of love songs, such as “Right Now With You,” “Boy Gets the Girl”, and “Mattress on the Floor.” Although all three are sublime in their own right, “Mattress on the Floor” is a standout track, where Pitney vocalizes that love is all you really need to get by.

According to Pitney, most of the songs were inspired by the love he has for his wife. “Local Honey” is a sweet and sultry song about falling in love that everyone can relate to. “Plain and Simple” is another stellar example of how well Pitney can express a simple story through the song. The love song is the perfect simplest declaration of endearment. “Always have and always will love you / Plain and simple”

On the other hand, “Looks Like Rain” is arguably one of the best songs on the project. Written about mental health struggles, Pitney takes vulnerability to a whole new level on this gut-wrenching, but much needed track. In our exclusive interview, he deemed this song one of his favorites and even opened up about the inspiration, sharing; “I wanted to record it because it is a song about depression. It is a song about having the sun shining, and the birds are singing, but the whole world is grey. And I think that’s a common human experience, and I wanted to share that I’ve been through that and other people aren’t alone with that.”

Of course, family remained a tenant on this record. As a recent father of two girls and a touring musician, Pitney knows how it feels to be away from his family.  In “’ Til I Get Back To You,” the singer expresses that sentiment through the lens of a truck driving industry. In our conversation, the singer-songwriter explained how effortless the songwriting process was for this song. “We talked about the history of country music and truck driving songs and we wanted to try to bring that to this record in a new way so I welded my story of traveling and wanting to get back to my wife with these truck driving industry.” “Old Stuff Better,” a fun country-folk jam about family roots and “Ain’t Bad for Good Ol’ Boy” also lend themselves to the family first mentality.

Overall the brand new project is a little bit of the old mixed with a whole lot of the new. Like most of us, Pitney is just on the journey called life, and constantly peeling back the layers that make him who he is. I’m sure true fans of music will continue to support his unmatched and refreshing talent.

To keep up with Mo Pitney follow him on Instagram and Facebook.


NYCS Picks:

  1. “A Music Man”
  2. “Looks Like Rain”
  3. “’Til I Get Back to You”
  4. “Boy Gets the Girl”


Ain’t Lookin’ Back Tracklist:

  1. A Music Man (feat. Jamey Johnson)
  2. Right Now with You
  3. Ain’t Bad for a Good Ol’ Boy
  4. ’til I Get Back to You
  5. Looks Like Rain
  6. Boy Gets the Girl
  7. Ain’t Lookin’ Back
  8. Old Home Place (feat. His All-Star Band)
  9. Plain and Simple
  10. Mattress on the Floor
  11. Local Honey
  12. Old Stuff Better
  13. Jonas

Ain’t’ Lookin’ Back is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.




The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: