NYCS First Impression Aubrie Sellers ‘Far From Home’

Aubrie Sellers Far From HOme

Aubrie Sellers is a lot of things. She’s an actress, the daughter of country music royalty, an outlaw, and an incredible singer-songwriter. Her debut album, New City Blues, was ranked #13 on Rolling Stone’s 2016 Best Country Albums list and was loved by fans and critics all around. Her sophomore album, Far From Home, released today, February 7th, and it’s chock-full of songs that make you want to drive through a thunderstorm and dance in the rain all at the same time.

The 12-track collection is dreamy, nostalgic, and gritty. Sellers explores topics like small-town living and relationships, as well as the ups and downs of one’s innermost thoughts and concerns. “Anxiety can be very isolating. Unless you’ve really gone through it, it’s difficult to fully understand,” she explains in a press release. Track 4 is “Worried Mind”, co-written by Sellers and Adam Wright, where Sellers sings about what it’s like to live in a constant state of fear. “I got a worried mind/And I’m worried I’ll be worried all the time”.

The opening is the achingly beautiful title track, “Far From Home”. It’s about feeling like you haven’t officially found your place in the world, yet you know the feeling is temporary. “It can get lonely/But we know we/won’t always be far from home,” she sings on the chorus. It’s written more like a poem set to music, and it’s without a doubt the cornerstone of the album.

The album as a whole is “garage country”, as described by Sellers. You hear producer Frank Liddell’s influence on the rockier tunes like “Lucky Charm” and “Troublemaker”. Liddell is responsible for many of Miranda Lambert’s hits and has a way of adding his own spin to an artists’ vision. “He doesn’t impose his own sound on an artist; he lets everybody sound like themselves,” Sellers says. “That was really important to me.”

The eighth track is the stellar solo-write “Haven’t Even Kissed Me Yet”. It’s a gorgeous, floaty, and romantic moment centered around that first feeling of connection with someone. Sellers’ voice is hesitant, delicate; as if testing the waters before she declares that she’s all-in.

She collaborated with rock legend Steve Earle, covering “My Love Will Not Change”. This song is just another example of her versatility as an artist. “Maybe I’m a little fringe or old school, but I can only be myself,” she says. “Going Places”, written by Sellers and Angelo Petraglia is placed in the middle of the album, and it fits perfectly there. It sounds like a psychedelic country road trip through Sellers’ brain as if combining the sounds of Ashley Monroe and Tame Impala.

“I feel like I’m film in a digital world,” Sellers says in a press release. “There are so many slick, clean-sounding records that are designed for quick consumption, but that’s not me. I make dirty, grungy-sounding records, and the emotions spill all over the place. They’re messy at times, but I find beauty in that.”

Sellers is an artist that does not make music designed for radio success. She creates music that comes from within, and in an era where everyone is full-speed ahead, it’s exciting to see someone slow down and simply create art. Far From Home is a storyteller’s album. These are the stories that live on longer than Sellers herself.

To read more about Aubrie Sellers check out our most recent Swag Spotlight with her from last month. 

To keep up with Aubrie Sellers, follow her on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Far From Home is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.

Aubrie Sellers, Far From Home Track List

  1. “Far From Home” (Aubrie Sellers, Park Chisolm)
  2. “My Love Will Not Change” (Shawn Camp, Billy Burnette)
  3. “Lucky Charm” (Aubrie Sellers, Adam Wright)
  4. “Worried Mind” (Aubrie Sellers, Adam Wright)
  5. “Drag You Down” (Aubrie Sellers, Shannon Wright)
  6. “Going Places” (Aubrie Sellers, Angelo Petraglia)
  7. “Glad” (Aubrie Sellers, Adam Wright, Ethan Ballinger)
  8. “Haven’t Even Kissed Me Yet” (Aubrie Sellers)
  9. “Troublemaker” (Aubrie Sellers, Iain Archer)
  10. “Run” (Aubrie Sellers, Park Chisolm)
  11. “Under The Sun” (Aubrie Sellers, Ethan Ballinger)
  12. “One Town’s Trash” (Aubrie Sellers, Brendan Benson)

NYCountry Swag Picks:

  1. Haven’t Even Kissed Me Yet
  2. Far From Home
  3. Under The Sun






The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.

Saturday Night Live Combs


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: