[Listen] Matt Stell’s New Single “Everywhere But On”

Everywhere But On Matt Stell

Photo Credit Dustin Haney

It’s been a busy few months for rising country star Matt Stell, who made his Opry debut on April 27, signed with Arista Nashville, and continues to see his song “Prayed for You” climb the charts. On May 24, he’ll release his EP, Everywhere But On, and today (May 10), the title-track was released.

Running from lost love, “Everywhere But On” tells the story of a man avoiding the memories of an ex by moving from place to place, picking up odd jobs (“loading trucks, pouring coffee, pouring concrete”), and doing anything possible to get over an ex. On the somber ballad, Stell admits that moving on was “supposed to be easy,” but instead finds himself lost in memories, finally realizing he’s moved “everywhere but on.”

“I’ve been from Savannah to Long Beach/ Trying to keep your memory out of reach / But there you were in the Delta nights, the Santa Fe Sun, the Colorado sky / I could add another pushpin to the map / But that don’t stop me from missing you looking back/ Guess there’s just one place I haven’t gone/ I’ve moved everywhere but on.”

In many ways, “Everywhere But On” is the evil twin of of “Prayed for You,” showing the negative, heartbreaking side of love as opposed to the hopeful optimism of “Prayed.” Back in September, Stell previewed this track for NYCountry Swag listeners as a part of a Swag Session, which you can watch below.

The Everywhere But On EP will be released on May 24, and will feature seven tracks co-written by Stell, in addition to a collaboration with Jimmie Allen. “I can’t tell you how excited I am to release my new EP, ‘Everywhere But On’,” shares Stell in a press release. “I’m lucky that I get to write songs almost every day. Every so often I have the chance to go into the studio with a batch of songs and turn a killer band loose on them. This EP has been my favorite project yet. I can’t wait to share how it turned out!”

Everywhere But On EP Track Listing:
1. Last Habit (Matt Stell, Jamie Moore, Brian Maher)
2. Better I Drink (Matt Stell, Autumn McEntire, Larry McCoy)
3. Everywhere But On (Matt Stell, Paul Sikes, Lance Miller)
4. Home In A Hometown feat. Jimmie Allen (Matt Stell, Ash Bowers, Matt Rogers)
5. I Bet Whiskey Would (Matt Stell, Chris Tompkins, Zach Abend)
6. Prayed For You (Matt Stell, Allison Veltz, Ash Bowers)
7. Reason Why (Matt Stell, Paul Sikes, Matt Alderman)

Pre-order the project now at https://smarturl.it/MStellEP and instantly receive the title track, “Everywhere But On.”

To keep up with all things Matt Stell, visit MattStell.com and follow him on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

“Everywhere But On” is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: