Drake White: ‘The Bridge’ – EP Review

Drake White releases his brand new EP, The Bridge, out now on all streaming platforms. Listen to the new project here.

With one of country music’s most compelling voices and stories, Drake White is back with his new EP, The Bridge. The 7-song collection marks the followup to 2022’s LP, The Optimystic, which chronicled White’s recovery from a career and life-altering stroke.

For the Alabama native, The Bridge is a collection of both the old and new. “The Webster dictionary defines a bridge as a structure carrying a pathway or roadway over a depression or obstacle,” White says. “This is the bridge taking me [to] back to why I started making music in the first place.” 

All seven songs were co-written by the Alabama native, including reimagined versions of “50 Years Too Late” and “Power of a Woman,” both which appeared on The Optimystic. While the newly released version of “50 Years” is a gritty and soulful “ruff cut” of the ode to simpler times, “Power” is reimagined as a duet with Colbie Caillat. Here, the breezy singer-songwriter’s warm voice perfectly complements the grit and gravel of White, breathing new life into the track that celebrates an amazing woman.

“Makin’ Me Look Good Again” is also a new version, originally appearing on White’s debut album, Spark. On the new take, aptly dubbed a “wedding version,” his stunning vocals soar over slowed and stripped down instrumentation, making it perfect for a first dance. “And then those loving arms, they pull me back in,” He croons, voice full of emotion. “Oh there you go, baby, yeah, Oh making me look good again.”

“Turn You On” offers another romantic moment, with a seductive invitation to slow things down and enjoy the moment. Co-written with Maren Morris and Ryan Hurd, the track can be likened to a modern day “Let’s Get It On,” with White seductively offering to “turn it all off so I can turn you on.”

As one of country music’s most prolific optimists, Drake White shines on introspection in the forms of “Spirit” and “Ladder to the Sky.” The former finds White as a drifter, his soul meant to wander, while “Ladder” offers an especially poignant moment of reflection as a small part in a bigger picture.

“Where it leads nobody knows //  Past the stars and left at the rainbow //  Ya everybody, everywhere, everyday is trying to climb //  Up that ladder //  The ladder to the sky // Ya the view gets better from way up high //  So climb that ladder // the ladder to the sky”

While the Alabama native shines on romance and introspection, he also knows how to have fun, as evidenced on the EP’s final track, his collaboration with Hayes Carll, “Happy Hour.” On the twangy up-tempo, the pair find themselves asking life’s biggest questions, musing “Who says happy only gets to last an hour?”

“Why do mommas always worry? // Why can’t payday come on time // Why does agave tequila taste, better with salt and lime // Why are sunsets so romantic? // Why are fun things all so wrong? // Why can’t I ever stop singing them sad ol’ country songs? // And why can’t stopping time be my superpower? // And who says happy only gets to last an hour? “

On his new EP, Drake White continues to prove why he’s one of music’s most unique and powerful artists. With his unique output on life and his patented blend of country, soul and Muscle Shoals, each new release offers listeners something truly special, and The Bridge is no exception.

The Bridge EP Tracklist:

  1. 50 Years Too Late (Ruff Cut) (Leith Loftin, Drake White) 
  2. Spirit (Drake White, Phil Pence, Leslie Satcher) 
  3. Power of a Woman (ft. Colbie Caillat) (Kelli Johnson, Lindsey Hinkle, Drake White) 
  4. Makin’ Me Look Good Again (Wedding Version) (Drake White, Monty Criswell, Shane Minor) 
  5. Turn You On (Maren Morris, Ryan Hurd, Drake White) 
  6. Ladder To The Sky (Drake White, Vanessa Olivarez, Andy Skib) 
  7. Happy Hour (Drake White, Hayes Carll) 

Country Swag Picks:

  1. Ladder to the Sky
  2. Happy Hour
  3. Makin’ Me Look Good Again

Drake White shares new EP, ‘The Bridge,’ out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Drake White releases.

To keep up with Drake White, follow him on InstagramFacebook, and Twitter.

The Bridge is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.