Dan + Shay: ‘Good Things’ – Album Review

Dan + Shay’s new album Good Things, released today, August 13th is officially available on all streaming platforms. The record features number one songs “Glad You Exist”, “10,000 Hours” with Justin Bieber, and “I Should Probably Go To Bed.” Check out the full review below.

In a time of chaos and uncertainty in the world, we could all use some good things, and Dan + Shay have certainly delivered. With the release of their fourth full-length album, the aptly titled Good Things, out now August 13, the harmonic pair have provided the perfect summer soundtrack. With twelve new tracks of buoyant and bouncy country-pop, Dan + Shay are offering up a hearty dose of ‘good things’.

The record follows in the footsteps of their 2018 smash self-titled album, which included “Tequila,” “All to Myself,” and “Speechless.” When announcing the new release back in July, the pair took to Instagram, writing, “We poured every bit of our hearts into this project and have never been more excited for anything in our entire lives.”

Each song on Good Things was produced and co-written by Dan Smyers, while Shay Mooney also leant his hand to co-writing on eight of the album’s tracks. Other co-writers and co-producers include Nashville heavy-hitters Ross Copperman, Ashley Gorley, Dave Barnes, Andy Albert, Jordan Reynolds, and Old Dominion’s Brad Tursi. For the project, Dan + Shay also enlisted some big names from the pop world, including Julia Michaels, Shawn Mendes, and Justin Bieber on the previously released, “10,000 Hours”.

Opening with the album’s airy and melodic “Good Things,” Dan + Shay wish an ex well. With its anthemic chorus over rousing beats, the song is both the perfect album opener and the perfect introduction to this era of Dan + Shay. On this track, they’re eternally optimistic, moving on but wishing her well.

“When it’s late at night // And you’re still wide awake // If you’re with your friends or you’re lonely // When you hear somebody start to say my name // Oh when you think of me // I hope you think good things”

That almost tropical feel continues throughout the album, highlighting its way through songs such as “Steal My Love,” and “Body Language.” Likewise, “Irresponsible” is a mid-tempo yet sultry ode to a booty call that may be wrong, but feels oh-so-right. “I’m still gettin’ over the last time, we said it’s the last time,” they admit of their tryst, wondering “How’d we end up here, in the same room?”

While the album definitely embraces up-tempo tracks, the duo’s softer side is still evident on Good Things. “You” is the type of song that fans have come to expect from Dan + Shay, as they celebrate the love of a lucky woman. “If all else goes wrong // Baby, I’ll be alright // ‘Cause I got you.”

Meanwhile, “One Direction” is another such track, and despite its name, it’s sadly not an ode to Harry, Niall, Liam, and Louis. Instead, it’s a love song that shows Mooney flexing his vocal chops, proclaiming his desire to carpe diem in a relationship. “Cause time only moves in one direction // These are the nights we won’t get back // Don’t wanna waste one single second // Don’t want the starts to fall so fast,” they sing. “Cause someday we’ll be sayin’ how // We wish we could turn back around // Time only moves in one direction // Come on, get closеr, come, let me hold you now”

Getting over an ex is a theme on many of the album’s songs, including “Let Me Get Over Her,” a moody piano-driven prayer of desperation to move on. Meanwhile, “Lying” takes on a similar topic in a very different musical way. If there’s something oddly familiar about the track, it’s the piano melody of the Bill Withers classic “Lean on Me” that weaves its way through the song. “I don’t miss you in my bed // I don’t hear you in my head,” they sing. “I don’t love you, I’m not cryin’ // And I swear, I’m not lyin.”

With a mix of airy up-tempo songs and the ballads that Dan + Shay have become known for, Good Things is the perfect album title, delivering good things in spades.

Good Things Tracklist

  1. Good Things (Dan Smyers, Ross Copperman, Jason Evigan, Ashley Gorley)
  2. Steal My Love (Dan Smyers, Andy Albert, Ashley Gorley, Jordan Reynolds)
  3. You (Dan Smyers, Dave Barnes, Jordan Reynolds)
  4. Body Language (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Scott Harris, Shawn Mendes, Jordan Reynolds)
  5. Give In To You (Dan Smyers, Julia Michaels, Jordan Reynolds)
  6. Irresponsible (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Julia Michaels, Jordan Reynolds)
  7. Lying (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Jordan Reynolds, Bill Withers)
  8. One Direction (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Jordan Reynolds)
  9. Let Me Get Over Her (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Kyle Fishman, Jordan Schmidt, Brad Tursi)
  10. Glad You Exist (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Ryan Lewis, Tayla Parx, Jordan Reynolds)
  11. 10,000 Hours (with Justin Bieber) (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jessie Jo Dillon, Jordan Reynolds, Justin Bieber, Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd)
  12. I Should Probably Go To Bed (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Sean Douglas, Jason Evigan)


Our Picks:

  1. “Good Things”
  2. “One Direction”
  3. “You”
  4. “Lying”

Dan + Shay’s brand new album ‘Good Things’ is out now, August 13th

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news and announcements about future Dan + Shay releases.

New York/New Jersey Dan + Shay fans can catch the duo later this month as they will be a part of the Barefoot Music Fest in Wildwood, New Jersey from August 19-22 and tickets are available here. They’ll also be headlining Madison Square Garden on September 16 and New Jersey’s Prudential Center on December 5th.

To keep up with Dan + Shay, follow them on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter.

Good Things is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.