Carrie Underwood: ‘Denim & Rhinestones’ Deluxe Album Review

Carrie Underwood’s deluxe version of her album, Denim & Rhinestones is out now, September 22nd on all streaming platforms. Listen to the new music below.

“I really just wanted to make an album that felt like fun.” That’s how country music superstar Carrie Underwood described her last project, ‘Denim & Rhinestones’ ahead of its June 2022 release. And that fun is still going a year later because the Deluxe version is finally here!

The extended release features the original 12 tracks plus six new ones, including a live version of the twangy fan favorite, ‘She Don’t Know’, a song Underwood intro’d on tour by explaining it was inspired by the ‘other woman’ in Dolly Parton’s 1973 smash hit, ‘Jolene’.

“I didn’t want [the era] to end, so we decided to add some tracks that kind of fit in the family” the eight-time grammy winner explained while visiting the TODAY show to promote the new album. “[The Deluxe is] just more denim, more rhinestones, more fringe, more sparkles, more all of it!”

The new songs are a perfect compliment to the rest of the album, adding fresh yet nostalgic melodies and the kinds of descriptive stories the singer-turned-songwriter-turned-producer has come to be known for. New tracks, ‘Give Her That’, ‘Out of That Track’, ‘Drunk and Hungover’, and ‘Damaged’ all reflect on lost love, much like original fan-favorites ‘Ghost Story’ and ‘Burn’.

“You can’t give her those wild summer nights where I learned all your secrets // Those “I love you’s” that already fell off your lips // That part of your heart that you gave me and you can’t get back // You can’t give her that”

‘Take Me Out’ (first written for Underwood’s 2018 project, ‘Cry Pretty’) joins the existing love songs on ‘Denim & Rhinestones’ like the title track, ‘Pink Champagne’, ‘Wanted Woman’, and ‘Faster’.

“Take me out on the town // Flirt with me in the dark // Make my heart skip a beat // Like only you can do to me // Stealin’ kisses in some old dive bar // Make me feel like your woman // Slow burnin’ in a neon crowd // Yeah, I’m wantin’ you to want me, baby // So take me out”

Underwood isn’t the only one looking to extend the era she’s been living in for the past year. Fans took the theme to heart last spring and fall, decking out in – you guessed it – denim and rhinestones night after night on Underwood’s 43-city tour.

Underwood has been busy since then, launching a new Sirius XM Channel called Carrie’s Country, touring with Guns n’ Roses for a few dates, performing the NBC Sunday Night Football theme for the 11th consecutive year, and most recently, announcing an extension of her REFLECTION residency at the Resorts World Theatre in Las Vegas. With 12 Vegas dates left in 2023 and 18 already announced for 2024, country music lovers will have plenty of chances to bring the sparkle and shine to the strip and check out the show everyone is still talking about. Tickets for REFLECTION: The Las Vegas Residency are available at

Denim & Rhinestones Deluxe Track List:

  1. Denim & Rhinestones
  2. Velvet Heartbreak
  3. Ghost Story
  4. Hate My Heart
  5. Burn
  6. Crazy Angels
  7. Faster
  8. Pink Champagne
  9. Wanted Woman
  10. Poor Everybody Else
  11. She Don’t Know
  12. Garden
  13. Out of That Truck*
  14. Give Her That*
  15. Drunk and Hungover*
  16. Damage*
  17. Take Me Out*
  18. She Don’t Know (live from Denim & Rhinestones Tour)*

* – Deluxe Edition tracks


Carrie Underwood shares new deluxe album, ‘Denim & Rhinestones,” out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about upcoming Carrie Underwood announcements and releases.

To keep up with Carrie Underwood, follow her on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

Denim & Rhinestones Deluxe available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.