Avenue Beat: ‘the debut farewell album’ – Album Review

Avenue Beat’s debut and final album the debut farewell album is officially out on all streaming platforms today, October 15th. Listen to the full project below and check out our review.

Our favorite country-pop girl group, Avenue Beat is officially breaking-up. Although sad, it is the perfect, ironic timing for the trio to release their debut record. Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, and Sam Backoff established themselves as trendsetters and true individuals, and the brand new record is the perfect send off. the debut farewell album is officially out now.

The record kicks off with arguably the song of 2020, the iconic, “F2020.” A true embodiment of how we all felt during the height of the pandemic, Avenue Beat do not shy away from he truth in this song, a common thread throughout their music. Similarly their previously relate songs “woman” and “I don’t really like your boyfriend,” showcases their flirty and sassy sides of their artistry.

On “rock in outer space,” the threesome explore the idea that we take life so seriously, yet we are literally “floating on a rock in outer space.” Their approach is both interesting and introspective.

The ladies continue their cool-girl vibe on “dtf” and “space for you.” The former is a catchy tune about getting closer with someone you like. Although we all know what the acronym stands for, Avenue Beat changes it to “down to fly” and later, “down to fight.” The latter, “space for you” is a slow-burn that feels confident and deep. It is clear the songstresses know a thing or two about love.

Avenue Beat continue to explore the meaning of life and love on the next couple of tracks, “new strangers” and “parties.” “new strangers” is a harmonic masterpiece.  With lyrics like, “I feel like I’m not keeping old friends, I’m just making new strangers,” it is hard not to fall in love with this pensive jam. On the other hand “parties” is an explorative song about both anxiety and dealing with our twenties.

Before the last three songs off the project, Avenue Beat feature a personal interlude. The final three songs all convey the sadness the artists feel about Sami deciding to leave the band.

“different” showcases how Backoff and Santos feel about losing their band member. Their honesty and integrity shine on this sad, but beautiful track. “happy for you” takes things a step further and deeper into the vulnerability. “it’s weird that both these things can be true // that I’m happy for you // and I hate that I have to be happy for you.”

Finally, the record culminates with “this is goodbye” featuring Summer Overstreet, the unofficial forth member of the band. The song is a harmony-forward ballad. All their vocals shine on the track. It is clear that the ladies are saying goodbye to the incredible artistry that they have created together throughout their time at major label.

Although this record is a goodbye record, we sincerely hope there will be more from Sam Backoff and Savana Santos in the future. The twosome clearly love what they do, and country music, and fans around the world need them, even if its not Avenue Beat. Congrats to the ladies on a stellar project!

the debut farewell album Track List:

  1. F2020 | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos
  2. woman | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, Joey Hendricks, Michael Whitworth*
  3. I don’t really like your boyfriend | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, Summer Overstreet
  4. rock in outer space | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, Summer Overstreet+
  5. dtf | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, Summer Overstreet, Jordyn Shellhart, Emily Weisband^
  6. space for you | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, Summer Overstreet^
  7. new strangers | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, Jason Gantt
  8. parties | Sam Backoff, Sami Bearden, Savana Santos, Summer Overstreet
  9. interlude | Sam Backoff, Savana Santos
  10. different | Sam Backoff, Savana Santos
  11. happy for you | Sam Backoff, Savana Santos, Victoria Canal, Summer Overstreet
  12. this is goodbye (featuring Summer Overstreet) Sam Backoff, Savana Santos, Summer Overstreet

Produced by Savana Santos
*Produced by Savana Santos, Alysa Vanderheym
+Produced by Savana Santos, Julian Bunetta
^Produced by Savana Santos, Julian Bunetta, John Ryan, Afterhrs


  1. “new strangers”
  2. “this is goodbye”
  3. “F2020”
  4. “different”

Avenue Beat’s record ‘the debut farewell album’ is officially out now.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about upcoming Avenue Beat announcements and releases.

To keep up with Avenue Beat follow them on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

the debut farewell album is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.