Mitchell Tenpenny: Neon Christmas – EP Review

Mitchell Tenpenny’s brand new Christmas EP Neon Christmas is available now, October 23rd on all streaming platforms. Take a look below as we dig a little deeper into the new songs off the special holiday project.

One of our absolute favorite singer-songwriters, Mitchell Tenpenny has one of the most distinct voices in country music. His signature sound has gained him boatloads of fans across the globe. After gifting us with an original Christmas song, “Naughty List” last year, the singer took it a step further showcasing his love for the holiday season a little bit more with a full Christmas EP. Today, Tenpenny released his EP entitled Neon Christmas, which features four incredible covers of some of our favorite holiday classics as well as three original new tunes.

Despite the fact that some of the songs are covers and some are originals, Tenpenny finds a way to make every song feel fresh and new. Renditions of Christmas classics like “O Holy Night” and “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” remind us how powerful and effortless the singer’s vocals truly are. Both songs showcase his talent in an undeniable way.

The other two covers of songs, “Let It Snow! Let It Snow Let It Snow!” And “Joy to the World” feature a more rock-country element to them. The former could literally be an original Mitchell Tenpenny song. Tenpenny finds a way to make the classic sound brand new, while on “Joy to the World,” the singer delivers a smooth, vibey anthem.

Of course, Tenpenny shines on his original songs. Although many artists try their hand at reimagining Christmas songs, the artist finds a way to deliver three brand new tracks that actually have appeal during the holiday season. Arguably our favorite, the previously released jam, “Naughty List,” is one of Tenpenny’s best. The song reminds us of how it feels to be in love during Christmastime.

“I’m gon’ end up on the naughty list / And Santa’s gonna take back all my gifts / With kisses sweeter than the cookies that we left up by the chimney / Tell me, baby, how could I resist”

The other two originals, “Snow Angels” and the title track, “Neon Christmas” are equally as enticing for different reasons. “Snow Angels” is a romantic and sensual song with an R&B flair. Tenpenny pushes the boundaries on this song in all the right ways. On the other hand, “Neon Christmas” is all about making the best out of a snow delay and having Christmas under the neon lights of a bar. We love the unique visuals that the song evokes.

“We have a neon Christmas, baby don’t you know / Yeah, as long as we’re together it don’t matter where we go / If a cold beer, corner booth, or a I’ve bar stool’s on your wish list / We can have a neon Christmas”

Mitchell Tenpenny's holiday EP, 'Neon Christmas' is available everywhere now, October 23rd

Mitchell Tenpenny’s holiday EP, ‘Neon Christmas’ is available everywhere now, October 23rd

Overall, Neon Christmas might be one of our favorite new holiday records. Tenpenny finds a way to reinvigorate the classics while giving us new jams to play all season long! As the singer said on his social media, “Happy Merry Fuckin Christmas.”

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Mitchell Tenpenny releases.

To keep up with Mitchell Tenpenny, follow him on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Neon Christmas EP is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.

Neon Christmas EP Tracklist:

  1. O Holy Night
  2. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
  3. Snow Angels
  4. Neon Christmas
  5. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  6. Joy to the World
  7. Naughty List




The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. Specially selected foundations that support our heroes will receive donations from each purchase. Honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice is what we are dedicated to.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: