NYCS First Impression: Josh Turner Releases ‘I Serve a Savior’

Josh Turner I Serve a Savior

There’s nothing more special than an artist who pours his heart and soul into an album. Nowhere is this more evident than on Josh Turner’s new MCA Nashville release, I Serve a Savior, his first full-length Gospel release and the follow up to 2017’s Deep South. Since the earliest days of Turner’s career, his religious faith has been an evident theme throughout his music, revealed on some of his biggest hits, including “Long Black Train” and “Me and God.”

It’s not uncommon for country artists to venture into the religious territory, as evidenced by recent releases from Reba (2017’s Sing It Now: Songs of Faith and Hope), Jo Dee Messina (“Reckless Love”) and Carrie Underwood’s inclusion of “How Great Thou Art” on her Greatest Hits Album. For Opry member Turner, the decision to release a Gospel album was somewhat of a surprise. “Working on this project has definitely been a God-ordained blessing. I never would have thought I’d be doing this record this year, but God opened a door and I walked through it,” Turner said in a statement. “I’ve seen many seemingly impossible things take place during the making of this record and I’ve felt God’s anointing over it.”

“My faith is the most important thing to me,” Turner continues. “I want people to hear the sentiment and heart behind this record. I want them to feel the same inspiration that I felt. I want them to feel that and hopefully, they’ll make these songs a part of their life.”

Produced by Kenny Greenberg, the LP opens with “I Saw the Light,” and shows Turner flexing his impressive vocal chords over well-known hymns and future classics. Highlights include the album’s title track, co-written by Turner and Mark Narmore, the acapella take on “Doxology,” and Turner’s version of Loretta Lynn’s “I Pray My Way Out of Trouble.” The singer also tackles the classics, adding his own touch of twang to the likes of “Swing Low Sweet Chariot,” “How Great Thou Art,” and “Amazing Grace.”

I Serve a Savior also includes “The River (of Happiness),” a track written by Turner’s wife, Jennifer, and his eldest son, Hampton. The touching track, recorded live at Gaither Studios, features his four sons singing alongside their parents. “It’s an uplifting song,” he said in a press release, “and having Jennifer and the boys singing on it drives that home.”

The album concludes with a live take on Turner’s 2006 hit, “Me and God,” from his album, Your Man. On the track, he sings, “We’re a team, Me and God,” which is evidenced throughout this passion project, as Turner clearly serves his Savior with this release.

Josh Turner’s I Serve a Savior Track Listing:

1. “I Saw The Light” (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
2. “I Pray My Way Out of Trouble” (Featuring Bobby Osborne)
3. “Great Is Your Faithfulness”
4. “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot”
5. “Without Him”
6. “I Serve a Savior”
7. “How Great Thou Art” (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
8. “The River (of Happiness)” (Featuring the Turner Family Live From Gaither Studios)
9.” Amazing Grace”
10. “Long Black Train” (Live From Gaither Studios)
11. “Doxology”
12. “Me And God” (Live From Gaither Studios)

I Serve a Savior is now available everywhere you stream or buy music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.



Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: