Russell Dickerson – Album Review

Russell Dickerson’s new self-titled album is out now, November 4th on all streaming platforms. Take a listen and read our full review below.

Since the 2017 release of his wedding-ready single “Yours,” Russell Dickerson has been one of country music’s most buzzed-about new stars. Today, the singer-songwriter releases his third full-length album, a self-titled collection of radio-ready jams and romantic ballads that further cement his status as one of the genre’s future superstars.

Known for his electric and energetic live shows, the Triple Tigers Recording artist continues to reveal his talents on his self-titled album. “No matter how far we get into this, I want people to know it’s still me,”  Dickerson says in a statement. “I’m still the hyper, outgoing, fun-loving, crazy dude on stage. But also these songs are so meaningful to me. It’s not all hype and smoke and lights. I am a songwriter, I trust my instincts, and now my instincts are telling me to share 100 percent me, and creatively just let it flow.”

In his dedication to staying true to himself, the Tennessee native co-penned and co-produced each of the album’s fifteen tracks, enlisting a slew of Nashville heavy-hitters, including Josh Kerr, Ashley Gorley, Lori McKenna, Parker Welling, and Zach Crowell to join him.

On the project, Dickerson weaves his way through a well-crafted mix of romantic tracks, odes to nostalgia, and a few tried and true party anthems. He dabbles with hints of different genres, but stays true to the country-pop sounds that have endeared him to a legion of fans. Although he can do it all, the effusive talent shines especially bright on the driving and anthemic country-heavy mid-tempos that pepper the album. Songs like “I Wonder,” “God Gave Me a Girl,” and “Blame It On Being Young” are immediate standouts, each allowing him to stretch his vocal chops over building tracks that are stadium-show-ready.

On “God Gave Me a Girl,” his lyrics are at the forefront, cleverly building the phrases atop each other, proclaiming, “God gave me a girl // Girl gave me a kiss // Kiss gave me a feeling that I still get // Every time I look in her eyes…God gave me a girl // At just the right time // And I gave her the world // But she changed mine.”

While “God Gave Me a Girl,” is about true love found, both “I Remember” and “I Wonder” have him pondering the what-ifs of a lost love. On “I Wonder,” he ponders if he’ll regret losing someone forever, while “I Remember” has him nostalgic for young love and college days, forever treasuring the moments of being “young, dumb, wild, and free.”

Nostalgia is a theme that weaves its way through the album, celebrating the good ol’ days on “Blame It On Being Young,” “Drink to This,” “All the Same Friends,” “Beers to the Summer,” and “18.” While “Beers to the Summer” has hints of early Kenny Chesney, “18” is tinged with 80’s pop that has Dickerson longing to have known his wife as a teenager, musing that “I could’ve been your perfect // Perfect first kiss // Wishing that I could’ve kept you out all night // The problem with forever is it ain’t long enough // I wish that I could go back and we’d fall in love // Back when we were 18.”

On “I Still Believe,” Dickerson is a dreamer with small-town country values, as he proclaims his beliefs on the building anthem.

“The best beer is cold // The best friends are old // The best songs go ‘oh-oh-oh’ //  The best girl is mine // The best night’s tonight // With that sky dripping gold // There’s more good than bad // And rich don’t mean cash // Yeah I still believe// I believe, I believe in that.”

Dickerson’s love for his wife is another prevalent theme throughout his album, his romantic side is on display on songs like “Sorry,” “Over and Over,” “She Likes It” with Jake Scott, and “She’s Why.” While “Sorry” is a tongue-in-cheek uptempo that finds the star unable to keep his hands off the woman he loves, “She Likes It” is an R&B-tinted reminder that the attraction goes both ways.

The album ends with the sparse and incredibly moving “Just Like Your Mama,” a song dedicated to Dickerson’s young son, Remington, which even features a special appearance by the adorable toddler. “Just like your mama // No bull and no drama // You’ll know who you are // And you’ll know who you aint,” He sings of the boy who takes after his self-proclaimed better half. You’ll stand on what you believe // Golden heart on your sleeve // You won’t let this world take your shine away // In the mirror, might look just like me // Baby boy, I can already see // You’re better than my wildest dreams, just like your mama.”

On his self-titled album, Russell Dickerson continues to shine as one of Nashville’s most talented singer-songwriters, stretching himself lyrically, musically, and vocally, while remaining abundantly true to himself.

Russell Dickerson – Self-titled Album Track List:

  1. Blame It On Being Young (Russell Dickerson, Josh Kerr, Parker Welling)
  2. Sorry (Russell Dickerson, Hunter Phelps, Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson)
  3. She Likes It Feat. Jake Scott (Russell Dickerson, Jake Scott, Josh Kerr)
  4. I Still Believe (Russell Dickerson, Parker Welling, Matt Jenkins, Zach Crowell)
  5. Big Wheels (Russell Dickerson, Ashley Gorley, Hunter Phelps, Ben Johnson)
  6. I Remember (Russell Dickerson, Alysa Vanderheym, Chris Ryan, Logan Turner, Matt McGinn)
  7. I Wonder (Russell Dickerson, Jon Nite, Casey Brown)
  8. God Gave Me a Girl (Russell Dickerson, Ashley Gorley, Chase McGill, Zach Crowell)
  9. All the Same Friends (Russell Dickerson, Ashley Gorley, Chase McGill, Zach Crowell)
  10. Beers to the Summer (Russell Dickerson, Matt Jenkins, Mark Holman)
  11. She’s Why (Russell Dickerson, Josh Kerr, Sean Douglas)
  12. 18 (Russell Dickerson, Josh Kerr, Illsey Juber, Ashley Gorley)
  13. Over and Over (Russell Dickerson, Josh Kerr, Parker Welling, Jordan Reynolds)
  14. Drink to This (Russell Dickerson, Zach Crowell, Ashley Gorley, Parker Welling)
  15. Just Like Your Mama (Russell Dickerson, Lori McKenna, Casey Brown)

Country Swag Picks:

  1. I Wonder
  2. I Still Believe
  3. Beers to the Summer
  4. God Gave Me a Girl

Russell Dickerson’s self-titled album is out now.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Russell Dickerson releases.

Russell Dickerson will be hitting the road on his She Likes It fall tour, with tickets available here.

To keep up with Russell Dickerson, follow him on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

Russell Dickerson is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.