Riley Green: ‘Way Out Here’ – EP Review

Riley Green releases his brand new EP, Way Out Here, out now, April 12th on all streaming platforms. Listen to the new project here.

On his new EP, Way Out Here, Riley Green continues to establish himself as one of the genre’s most consistent hitmakers. The seven song collection, released April 12, allows the singer-songwriter to get recorded versions of these songs into the hands of his fans.

“We’ve been playing these new songs on the road and wanted to get them to the fans as soon as possible,” said Green of his decision to release the EP. “I’m always working on new music and have more coming throughout the year.”  

On the follow up to 2023’s Ain’t My Last Rodeo, the Alabama native wrote or co-wrote five of the collection’s seven tracks. Here, he pairs his modern traditional sound with poignant and personal lyrics.

The EP opens with “Jesus Saves,” a perfect song for Green that tugs at the heartstrings much in the vein of “I Wish Grandpas Never Died.” On the sparse ballad, he tells the story of an encounter with a homeless man, sharing stories of how things ended up that way. It’s a story similar to Emerson Drive’s “Moments,” reminding listeners that appearances can be deceiving. “It’s hard to see all that when you’re driving by,” He sings of the man’s story. “So I just write down ‘Jesus Saves,’ ’cause there ain’t no way I could fit that on a sign.”

The EP also features the previously released “Way Out Here” and “Damn Good Day to Leave,” both of which are Green at his finest. On the latter, he’s tongue in cheek as he deals with a breakup with a positive attitude, while “Way Out” is a catchy celebration of all the best things about country life.

“We don’t take a dime if we ain’t earned it // When it comes to weight, brother, we pull our own // If it’s our backwoods where you live and you’re concerned with // Well, you can leave us alone // ‘Cause we’re about John Wayne, Johnny Cash and John Deere // Way out here”

“Good Morning from Mexico” is an immediate standout, a beachy and playful letter to the girl who broke his heart. On the tropical tinted tune, he lives it up in Mexico, saying “adios” to his ex. “Well good morning from Mexico, I found a little senorita, and she don’t wanna let me go, we got us a bungalow, and I’ve been living off of coconut and Modelo,” He muses. “Thought I never would recover, find another lover, Hey I guess you never know, so good morning from Mexico.”

“Pick A Place” is a mid-tempo ballad that’s dedicated to escaping the trappings of everyday life and finding somewhere to escape to in order to rekindle an old flame. “Just pick a place where hearts don’t break and I’ll open up a tab, somewhere we don’t know a soul and we can wash away the past,” He implores. “Somewhere it don’t hurt, girl, just say the word and I’m on my way, All you gotta do is pick a place”

Rounding out the EP is the swampy and blues-laden “Worst Way” and a fan favorite from Green’s live shows, a countrified cover of Bruce Springsteen’s classic, “Atlantic City.”

Way Out Here Tracklist:

  1. Jesus Saves (Riley Green)
  2. Way Out Here (Casey Beathard, David Lee Murphy, Josh Thompson)
  3. Atlantic City (Bruce Springsteen)
  4. Good Morning from Mexico (Riley Green)
  5. Damn Good Day to Leave (Riley Green, Erik Dylan, Jonathan Singleton, Nick Walsh)
  6. Pick a Place (Riley Green, Erik Dylan)
  7. Worst Way (Riley Green)

Country Swag Picks:

  1. Good Morning from Mexico
  2. Jesus Saves
  3. Way Out Here


    Riley Green shares his brand new EP, ‘Way Out Here,’ out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Riley Green releases.

Green will make a stop at Mulcahy’s in Wantagh on April 24. Tour dates and more can be found here.

To keep up with Riley Green, follow him on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

Way Out Here is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.