NYCS First Impression: Chris Bandi Self Titled EP

Chris Bandi EP

We knew long before his record deal that it was just a matter of time before singer-songwriter Chris Bandi made it in the country music scene. The NYCountry Swag 2020 Artist to Watch made his major-label debut with his hit, “Man Enough Now,” and now is releasing his self-titled debut EP, filled with seven impressive tunes.

“I feel like I started making this EP 7 years ago when I first moved to Nashville,” Bandi shared on his social media, even acknowledging his early days. “From every open mic night, to writer’s room, to show throughout the years, I’m so proud of this EP and the hard work that everyone involved has put in. It’s been a long time coming and I can’t wait for you’ll to hear it.”

Beginning with “Dirt On Me,” the singer shows off his songwriting flair with a title that appears to be one thing, but is another. The guitar-heavy tune is an honest account of mistakes made, experiences had, and people that have come and gone that make up Bandi’s unique story. He sings “I got pages of me that are hard looking back on / regret written into my skin like a tattoo,” admitting later, that you don’t have to look far, if you want some dirt on him.

The next song is an ode to music. “Leave It To A Song” is as relatable as can be. Bandi sings about how music is always there for you, and ironically, this song can now be added to that list of songs. “When you need a real good / feel good / throwback feeling that you ain’t felt in so long / leave it to a love song to take you back in time / leave it to a song to get you feeling right”

In the same vein, “Free” talks about how the best things in life are free. The old cliche rings true through gritty lyrics and a fresh and exciting arrangement. The song has a gospel feel, during the hook, and a Sam Hunt vibe in the verse, where Bandi talks some of the lyrics. His versatility shines through on this track, and in the feel-good, flirty, adventure-seeking song “What If We Don’t.”

On the contrary, Bandi’s “Would Have Loved Her” is touching in a completely different way. The song is a heartfelt and heartbreaking piano tune, where the singer croons about meeting a girl that he knows his late father would have loved. In one of his live performances on Instagram, Bandi called this song one of his favorites that he’s ever written, and we agree.

“They Make Whiskey” is the other slower tune off the record. The break-up slow jam is a back and forth about all the reasons things were made. Of course, whiskey was made to get over an ex. “And they make little bars on the edge of town / for getting lost / for getting found / and hanging around / for more than a round or two”

If there was one word to describe Bandi’s new project, it would be honest. Each and every song off the record is an honest, personal, and fresh anecdote into the singer-songwriter’s life and journey. Know for his debut single, “Man Enough Now,” Bandi utilizes that platform to express different parts of his life throughout the new project. The single sits as the closer of the record, and no matter how many times we hear it, it remains as one of our favorites.

To keep up with Chris Bandi follow him on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.


NYCS Picks:

  1. “Would Have Loved Her”
  2. “Man Enough Now”


Chris Bandi EP Tracklist:

  1. “Dirt On Me”
  2. “Leave It To A Song”
  3. “Would Have Loved Her”
  4. “Free”
  5. “They Make Whiskey”
  6. “What If We Don’t”
  7. “Man Enough Now”

 Chris Bandi EP is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.




The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police, and Military Departments across the country. A portion of sales from each purchase is donated to different foundations that support our heroes. We are dedicated to honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: