Mitchell Tenpenny: ‘Naughty List’ – Album Review

Mitchell Tenpenny’s full-length Christmas Album, Naughty List is available now, October 29th on all streaming platforms. Check out our full review and listen to the brand new music below.

It may be Halloween weekend, but Mitchell Tenpenny has us dreaming about Christmas with his full-length holiday album, Naughty List. The 11-track project is filled with holiday classics and original songs. It is the perfect album to curl up by the fireplace with your loved ones and enjoy the season.

While seven of the tracks were featured on the singer-songwriter’s 2020 EP Neon Christmas, Tenpenny is sharing his spin on two more covers as well as two originals.

We learned with Neon Christmas that Tenpenny can make the classics such as “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” and “Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow!”,  feel brand new.  There was no doubt that he would deliver again.  Putting his one-of-a-kind vocals together with an electric guitar, you will be up and dancing in no time when listening to “Jingle Bell Rock”.  You’ll continue to be on your feet with “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town”. Filled with an epic guitar solo, an appearance from Santa and standout vocals from Tenpenny, it shows the Nashville native’s originality.

“I Hope it Snows” featuring Meghan Patrick is one of the best original Christmas songs we’ve heard. It tells the story of bringing your significant home for the first time to meet your family and take part in the season’s traditions. The ballad starts out with Patrick bringing in M10 during the second verse and chorus. Their vocals blend perfectly creating an instant classic.

“I hope it snows on Christmas Eve // Like a winter wonderland in my parents backyard // And I hope you know how much it means to have you in the picture of our postcard // Holidays in the South is all you know // So we’re headed up North and I hope it snows”

“Don’t Hang the Mistletoe” is the second new original. It’s a fun love track that will have you hanging up mistletoe as soon as possible. But be warned you may never leave the house due to the amount of kissing you’ll be doing. With his country charm with a bit of R&B flare, Tenpenny shows his many vocal ranges.

Overall, Naughty List shows how great of an artist Tenpenny is. We will certainly have the album on repeat all season long!

Naughty List Tracklist:

  1. “Neon Christmas” (Mitchell Tenpenny/Lindsay Rimes/Matt Rogers)
  2. “Snow Angels” (Mitchell Tenpenny/Ernest Keith Smith/Rafe Tenpenny)
  3. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” (Hugh Martin/Ralph Blane)
  4. “Naughty List” (Mitchell Tenpenny/Andy Albert/Jordan Schmidt)
  5. “Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!” (Sammy Cahn/Jule Styne)
  6. “Don’t Hang the Mistletoe” (Mitchell Tenpenny/Kyle Clark/Jordan Schmidt)
  7. “Joy to the World” (Public Domain)
  8. “Jingle Bell Rock” (Joe Beal/Jim Boothe)
  9. “Santa Claus Is Comin’ to Town” (J. Fred Coots/Haven Gillespie)
  10. “I Hope It Snows” (feat. Meghan Patrick) (Mitchell Tenpenny/Jeff Cibulka/Meghan Patrick)
  11. “O Holy Night” (Public Domain)

Mitchell Tenpenny’s holiday project ‘Naughty List’ is out now.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news and announcements about future Mitchell Tenpenny releases.

To keep up with Mitchell Tenpenny, follow him on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

Naughty List is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.