Jake Worthington: Self-titled Debut Album Review

Jake Worthington’s self-titled debut album with Big Loud Records is out now on all streaming platforms. Listen to the new album below.

With a voice laced with depth, sincerity and traditionalism, Big Loud recording artist Jake Worthington is certainly a standout in the modern landscape. Today, the country newcomer released his debut self-titled album, a thirteen track love letter to country music.

For the Texas native who grew up on the likes of Ray Price, Merle Haggard, and George Jones, traditional country music is in his DNA. “I don’t mind being a dark horse,” he reveals in a statement. “Blame it on my raising, but I think there ought to be room for country in country music. It took me a long time to get here, but I’m ready to go to work.”

For Worthington, who co-wrote all but one of the new tracks, the project cements his place as a standout of the genre. With co-writers including ERNEST, Seth Ennis, Jessi Alexander, David Lee Murphy, and more, the young crooner sounds wise beyond his 27 years.

Maybe best known as the runner up on the sixth season of NBC’s The Voice, Worthington’s debut establishes him as way more than a flash in the pan reality contestant. In fact, throughout the album, Worthington often channels his inner George Strait, and we mean that in a good way. This styling is apparent on the album’s first track, “State You Left Me In,” which hearkens melodically and stylistically back to Strait’s classic “The Chair.” While his lost love is moving on, both literally and figuratively, he’ll be sure to stick around, just in case she ever comes back.

Love lost is a prevalent theme throughout the album, weaving its way through songs like “Without You,” “Ain’t Got You to Hold,” and “She Ain’t You.” While the latter is a stirring ballad, the others are toe-tapping dance floor anthems that are sure to have listeners two-stepping at the dance halls. The lyrics may be dealing with heartbreak, but there’s no lack of happiness within the actual music, providing an interesting juxtaposition for listeners.

“Single at the Same Time” is an immediate standout, a toe-tapping ode to a couple who just can’t seem to get their timing right. “If we’re ever single at the same time // Don’t call me a friend // Just call me sometime,” He muses. “Don’t think I ain’t got the same thing on my mind // If we’re ever single at the same time.”

“Honky Tonk Crowd,” “Night Time is My Time,” and “Next New Thing” are all laden with slide guitars and twangy piano. On each of these tracks,  Worthington knows exactly who he is, what he likes, and where he’s going. “I’m just a good ol’ boy,” He sings, his voice laden with country inflection. “Looking for the next new thing.” 

“Pop Goes the Whiskey” enlists ERNEST as both a co-writer and duet partner, on a song that is remnant of early Brad Paisley. On the love-lost tune, the pair trade verses about trying to move on at the bottom of the bottle. “Oh, and what do you know // Here I go // Back to the bottle again // Between heartache and liquor I’m up to my eyes,” They sing. “And I’m looking // For a tipsy // That’ll fix me for good this time // And it looks like its pop goes the whiskey tonight.”

“Closing Time” is the most appropriate final track, a barstool ballad mixing heartbreak with last call as Worthington compares moving on from a doomed relationship to the end of the night blues. “It just ain’t close enough to closin’ time // For me to leave this bar // And our love behind // I know I’ll close my tab // With you off my mind,” He drawls. “It just ain’t close enough to closin’ time.”

Produced by Joey Moi, Jake Worthington’s self-titled LP is one that is sure to entice traditional country music fans while winning over tons of new ones. It’s a modern way to approach classic country, resulting in one of the genre’s most intriguing and impressive debuts in recent memory.

Jake Worthington Track List:

  1. State You Left Me In (Timothy Baker, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  2. Single At The Same Time (Robert Arthur, Kim Penz, Jacob Weinschenk (Boyd), Jake Worthington) 
  3. Without You (Jody Booth, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  4. Pop Goes The Whiskey (feat. ERNEST) (Rocky Block, Kyle Fishman, Seth Ennis, Ernest Keith Smith) 
  5. Ain’t Got You To Hold (Joe Denim, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  6. She Ain’t You (Jake Doucet, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  7. Next New Thing (Steve Leslie, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  8. Honky Tonk Crowd (Clint Daniels, Jeff Hyde, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington)
  9. I Ain’t Goin Anywhere (Wyatt McCubbin, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  10. Night Time Is My Time (Monty Holmes, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  11. Only One Way To Find Out (Jessi Alexander, Dave Cohen, David Lee Murphy, Jake Worthington) 
  12. Heaven Can’t Be Found (Will Jones, Kim Penz, Roger Springer, Jake Worthington) 
  13. Closing Time (Nick Walsh, Jake Worthington) 

Country Swag Picks:

  1. “Single at the Same Time”
  2. “State You Left Me In”
  3. “Pop Goes the Whiskey”

Jake Worthington’s self-titled debut album is officially out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about upcoming Jake Worthington announcements and releases.

To keep up with the star, follow him on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and TikTok.

Jake Worthington’s self-titled debut album is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released tunes on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.