HARDY ‘the mockingbird & THE CROW’ – Album Review

HARDY’s new album, the mockingbird & THE CROW is out now, January 20th on all streaming platforms. Take a listen and read our full review below.

There are singers, songwriters, and artists, HARDY is all three, an absolute superstar in the making.  While every one of his projects to date have been incredible, HARDY has created a brand new and innovative concept with his country-rock album. Today, the highly anticipated record, the mockingbird & THE CROW is officially here.

The seventeen-song record may be the most exciting thing HARDY has ever created. In a recent press release the singer shared, “’the mockingbird & THE CROW’ is, in my opinion, is the best thing I’ve made so far. I had a lot of time to get in the weeds making this record with some of my favorite people in Nashville, and it truly captures every part of who I am as an artist. I’m honored that I get to share it with you next year; can’t wait to hear what you think about it.”

The record combines HARDY’s love and appreciation for country music with his mutual feelings for rock music. Each of the first 8 songs signify his country-side, ‘the mockingbird’, while the last 8 songs are incredible rock songs aka, ‘THE CROW.’ Of course, the middle song, the title track is a combination of HARDY’s country-songwriter side and entertainer-rock side, making it one of the best songs on the record.

“I’m a mockingbird // Singing songs that sound like other songs you’ve heard // Like Friday nights and headlights on some backroad red dirt // And how Mississippi’s home // I’ve always been a mockingbird but // Now I’m a mockingbird with a microphone”

On the country side of the record, fans get a taste of the singer’s incredible skills as a lyricist, as he weaves words and phrases into stories that appeal to the masses. The songs speak to nostalgic times in life, as well as, around heavier themes such as alcoholism, the death of country music, and getting caught up in forgetting to show appreciation.

The opening track, “beer” is a letter from the drink to someone that maybe has drank a little too much, while “wait in the truck,” featuring Lainey Wilson has been dubbed a “murder ballad,” and one of the best songs to come out at the end of last year. Of course, the other country feature on the project, “red” with Morgan Wallen is likely to be one of the most listened to songs on the project. The twosome combine their talent to create a song about celebrating small-town living in a way that feels like a breathe of fresh air.

“I ain’t talking politics, I’m talking small town // And if you’re from one you know what I’m talking ‘bout // It’s everywhere I swear from the courthouse bricks // To a crushed bud heavy can fading in the ditch // Like the book of John, like a barn door // And heart your hands over cause you’re thankful for // Every shipped off soul that was born to fight // For a wind torn flag that’s blue and white And red”

Another stand-out track is “drink one for me.” In a recent interview, HARDY confirms that the beautifully crafted song was written intentionally from the perspective of the person who passed away in “GIVE HEAVEN SOME HELL”, off HARDY’s debut album. It is both heartbreaking and comforting, a combination that is not easy to achieve. HARDY chooses introspection yet again on his solo-write, “happy,” a song all about personifying the feeling.

On the rock side of the record, HARDY runs the gamut all the way too heavy metal music, featuring Jeremy McKinnon on the stage-ready, “RADIO SONG.” Softer rock songs like the “JACK” and “TRUCK BED” help to bridge the gap between the country songs and the heavier stuff. Both previously released songs showcase HARDY at his absolute best, both as a singer and as a songwriter. On “TRUCK BED” fans will appreciate the reference to his song, “BOOTS.”

“I woke up on the wrong side of the truck bed this morning // With a bone-dry bottle of Jack I was pouring // Damn, she got some nerve, when she kicked me to the curb // Guess you can say I got what I deserve // ‘Cause I woke up on the wrong side of the truck bed this morning, yeah”

HARDY continues to bring the energy on songs like “.30-06.” The song feels reminiscent of an old-school punk rock song from the 2000s, sure to entice every millennial in his fanbase. Similarly, “I AIN’T IN THE COUNTRY NO MORE,” feels like it could fit into that time too. Both songs will be exciting to hear live.

HARDY ups the ante adding more heavy singing and screamo to the later songs on the record. On “KILL SH!T TILL I DIE,” the singer combines country lyrics about things like hunting with a wild explosion of emotion and energy. HARDY continues that vibe on the final song on the record, “THE REDNECK SONG,” proving that the country and rock genre are a perfect coupling for his music.

the mockingbird & THE CROW is one of the most unique albums out there right now. HARDY authentically fits in with both genres and finds a way to blend them effortlessly in a cohesive project. The entertainer clearly cares about every aspect of his artistry, and it shows through all of the seventeen tracks. If you have not yet jumped on the HARDY bandwagon, what are you waiting for?!

HARDY – the mockingbird & THE CROW Track List:

  1. beer (Michael Hardy, Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Hunter Phelps)
  2. red feat. Morgan Wallen (Michael Hardy, Rhett Akins, Ben Hayslip, Jacob Rice)
  3. wait in the truck feat. Lainey Wilson (Michael Hardy, Renee Blair, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt)
  4. drink one for me (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hunter Phelps)
  5. i in country (Michael Hardy, Smith Ahnquist, Nick Donley, Jake Mitchell, Hunter Phelps)
  6. screen (Michael Hardy, Jessie Jo Dillon, Matt Dragstrem, Hunter Phelps)
  7. happy (Michael Hardy)
  8. here lies country music (Michael Hardy, Cole Taylor, Brett Tyler, Will Weatherly)
  9. the mockingbird & THE CROW (Michael Hardy, Jordan Schmidt, Brett Tyler)
  10. SOLD OUT (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hunter Phelps)
  11. JACK (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hillary Lindsey)
  12. TRUCK BED (Michael Hardy, Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Hunter Phelps)
  13. .30-06 (Michael Hardy, Cameron Montgomery, Hunter Phelps)
  14. I AIN’T IN THE COUNTRY NO MORE (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hillary Lindsey)
  15. RADIO SONG feat. Jeremy McKinnon (Michael Hardy, Zach Abend, Nick Donley, Jeremy McKinnon, Cody Quistad)
  16. KILL SH!T TILL I DIE (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hunter Phelps)
  17. THE REDNECK SONG (Michael Hardy, Andy Albert, Nick Donley)

Country Swag Picks:

  1. “the mockingbird & THE CROW”
  2. “.30-06”
  3. “red”
  4. “TRUCK BED”

HARDY’s new album, ‘the mockingbird & THE CROW,’ out now.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future HARDY releases.

To keep up with HARDY, follow him on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

the mockingbird & THE CROW is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.