Hailey Whitters: ‘Living The Dream’ – Deluxe Album Review

Hailey Whitters’ brand new deluxe album LIVING THE DREAM is available now, February 26th, everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a look below as we dig a little deeper into the project.

Hailey Whitters' 'Living The Dream Deluxe Album' is available everywhere now, February 26th

Hailey Whitters’ ‘Living The Dream – Deluxe Album’ is available everywhere now, February 26th

For almost exactly a year, rising singer-songwriter and former Swag Spotlight artist, Hailey Whitters has been riding the high from the release of her debut full-length record The Dream. Clearly feeling like the album’s journey was not completely finished, the profound songstress is releasing a deluxe version of the project adding five new songs to the record, officially out today!

The record features familiar songs and fan-favorites like “Ten Year Town” and “Janice at the Hotel Bar.” The former is her dynamite former single, a song that paints the picture of what it was like for Whitters as she was trying to figure out if she should continue to try to ‘make it’ in Nashville. Written with the exceptional Brandy Clark, the track is one that will be a staple for Whitters for a long time coming.

The latter is another one of our favorites. Reminiscent of Lori McKenna’s awe-inspiring, “Humble and Kind”, Whitters combined forces with McKenna to express a real-life tale about an encounter with a wise woman named Janice. The song offers advice on how to live a good life, suggesting simple lessons like “get on the pill if you ain’t ready to start a family” and “make good love, good company.”

The songstress continues to remind us to be appreciative of life’s little moments in “The Days,” while expressing her truth in the breathtaking “Loose Strings,” a song about both love and loss. In “Heartland,” Whitters once again sings about life not going the way she thought it would, but alas, she knows she can always fall back on her Midwestern roots. “Heart – land in the middle of nowhere.”

The record also features “Happy People”, a song that Whitters wrote and was recorded by Little Big Town on their album, The Breaker. This new version is a mid-tempo jam that is laced with authenticity, gritty lyrics, and a traditional-country rooted instrumental. It focuses on the simple, yet complex concept of happiness and how to obtain it.

Whitters even collaborates with LBT on a brand new song on the record called “Fillin’ My Cup.” The track is a fun-loving, traditional-country jam, filled with banjos and eloquent harmonies. We’d love to see Little Big Town and Whitters perform this one live!

Like “Fillin’ My Cup,” the other four brand new songs are also collaborations. On “How Far Can I Go,” the songstress fulfills a childhood dream and duets with country superstar, Trisha Yearwood. The duet is truly timeless, and it feels like the two women have been singing together forever. Similarly, “Glad To Be Here,” Whitters’ dueling duet with Brent Cobb is just as enticing. The song is a nostalgic track about appreciating where you are, especially your hometown.

One of our favorite collaborations off the record is “How To Break A Heart.” A song that is truly songwriting and storytelling at its finest. It’s no surprise that Whitters combined her talent with two extraordinary musicians, Lori McKenna and Hillary Lindsey. The song is so beautiful and captivating both lyrically and melodically.

Whitters also collaborates with fellow rising country star, Jordan Davis on “The Ride,” the final song on the record. Although different than the other collaborations, Whitters and Davis prove how talented they both are. Their ability to stay true to their individual sounds, while creating something new and fresh has superstardom written all over it for both of them.

Of course, we would be remiss if we did not mention the closing track off the original version of the album, a song entitled “Livin’ The Dream.” Whitters inspires people to look at every step, every trial, and every hardship as part of ‘The Dream.’ For the songstress, her grind in Nashville, which included waiting on tables and living in a small apartment are all important parts of her journey, her story, and ultimately, her dream.

“Oh the one thing I’ve learned is that the world keeps on spinning / Love is the only thing that makes it go round / I’ve given it all with the time I’ve been given / I’m out here livin’ / Yeah we all just livin’ / the dream”

Whitters is an artist that is done trying to fit whatever mold the industry tries to push female singers into. Her artistry rivals that of any established superstar in country music, but it is her infectious vocals, stellar songwriter, and pure talent and perseverance that is going to take her far. Moreover, the fact that she chose to collaborate with the artists and songwriters that have helped her or inspired her on her journey just shows how proud she is of her craft.

NYCS Picks:

  1. “Ten Year Town”
  2. “The Ride”
  3. “Janice at The Hotel Bar”
  4. “How To Break A Heart”

LIVING THE DREAM Deluxe Tracklist:

  1. Ten Year Town
  2. The Days
  3. Red Wine & Blue
  4. Dream, Girl
  5. Loose Strings
  6. Heartland
  7. Janice at the Hotel Bar
  8. Happy People
  9. The Devil Always Made Me Think Twice
  10. All The Cool Girls
  11. The Faker
  12. Living the Dream
  13. Fillin’ My Cup (feat. Little Big Town)
  14. Glad To Be Here (feat. Brent Cobb)
  15. How To Break A Heart (feat. Lori McKenna & Hillary Lindsey)
  16. How Far Can It Go? (feat. Trisha Yearwood)
  17. The Ride (feat. Jordan Davis)

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Hailey Whitters releases.

To keep up with Hailey Whitters, follow her on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Living The Dream is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.