Charles Esten: ‘Love Ain’t Pretty’ – Debut Album Review

Charles Esten releases his debut album, Love Ain’t Pretty, out now, January 26th on all streaming platforms. Listen to the brand new project here.

American actor, singer, and songwriter, Charles Esten cultivated an incredible fanbase, when he played Deacon Claybourne on CMT’s ‘Nashville’ and as Ward Cameron on Netflix’s ‘Outer Banks.’ Now, the singer-songwriter is ready to share his other passion with the world, music. Today, Esten releases his debut album, Love Ain’t Pretty.

With fourteen songs that speak to Esten’s talent as both a singer and as a songwriter, Love Ain’t Pretty boast songs for all different types of country music lovers. Esten leant his songwriting prowess to each and every song off the impressive record. The album kicks off with the title track, a song that fans will surely love.

Next up, “A Little Right Now” and “One Good Move” take the listener on an emotional journey. The former track speaks to a wayward path, while “One Good Move” allows the listener to have an inside look into the past and now the present, which is much brighter. On songs like “I Ain’t” and “Make You Happy,” Esten shows off his traditional-country and more funky sounds, as well as, a more fun approach to music. Both songs make you want to dance and be in love without being too on the nose. Another standout moment comes later in the track list with a song called, “Maybe I’m Alright.” On the song, Esten finds peace in expression throughout the touching and relatable song.

Love Ain’t Pretty is an album that is blessed with both quiet moments of stardom and more fun-loving tunes. Esten does a great job showcasing all different sides of his musical ability and his journey thus far. The debut album is one to listen to!

Love Ain’t Pretty Tracklist:

  1. Love Ain’t Pretty (Charles Esten, Marshall Altman, Jimmy Yeary)
  2. A Little Right Now (Charles Esten, Jacob Lyda, Brian Maher)
  3. One Good Move (Charles Esten, Sam Backoff, Zarni deVette, Elise Hayes)
  4. In a Bar Somewhere (Charles Esten, Jason Gantt, Neil Medley)
  5. I Ain’t (Charles Esten, Brad Crisler, James LeBlanc)
  6. Another Song About You (Charles Esten, Colin Elmore)
  7. When Love Ain’t Love (Charles Esten, Jeffrey East)
  8. Candlelight (Charles Esten, Kenny Alphin, Eric Paslay)
  9. Back in My Life Again (Charles Esten, Marcus Hummon, Bryan Todd)
  10. Make You Happy (Charles Esten, Gary Burr, Jon D’Agostino)
  11. Willing to Try (Charles Esten, Gary Burr)
  12. Maybe I’m Alright (Charles Esten, Leslie Satcher)
  13. Down the Road (feat. Eric Paslay) (Charles Esten, Eric Paslay, Dylan Altman)
  14. Somewhere in the Sunshine (Charles Esten, Jon Nite)

Country Swag Picks:

  1. “Maybe I”m Alright”
  2. “Love Ain’t Pretty”
  3. “One Good Move”
  4. “Make You Happy”

Charles Esten shares debut album, ‘Love Ain’t Pretty,’ out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Charles Esten releases.

To keep up with Charles Esten, follow him on Instagram, TwitterTikTok, and Facebook.

Love Ain’t Pretty is available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.