Carrie Underwood’s Gospel Album ‘My Savior’ is Here

Carrie Underwood has released her very first gospel album titled My Savior today, March 26th. Co-produced by herself and longtime collaborator, David Garcia, Underwood brings her powerful voice and delicate delivery to the record which features 13 Christian music covers. Take a look below as we dig a little deeper into the project.

Carrie Underwood's gospel album, 'My Savior' is available now, March 26th

Carrie Underwood’s gospel album, ‘My Savior’ is available now, March 26th

Underwood is undeniably the reigning “queen of country music”, a title well-earned after having tremendous success in the industry. Her achievements include 27 number-one hits, seven platinum/multi-platinum records, and over 100 major awards (seven of which are GRAMMYs). Raised Catholic in the small town of Checotah, Oklahoma, her faith has always been a huge part of her life and career.

Underwood’s musical catalog contains crossover hits such as “Jesus Take the Wheel,” “Something in the Water,” and many others, along with her latest Christmas album, My Gift, which was more faith than commercial-based. With My Savior, the songstress continues to show her flexibility in music.

“Hymns and gospel music shaped me as an artist,” she explained in a recent press release. “They are the foundation of my career. This music isn’t about being on stage in front of a crowd; it’s about singing for the love of God.”

Underwood selected songs that she grew up listening to in church and at home, such as Fanny Crosby’s “Blessed Assurance” and Will Thompson’s “Softly and Tenderly.” NEEDTOBREATHE’s Bear Rinehart provides backing vocals in her cover of Robert Lowry’s “Nothing but the Blood of Jesus,” and 12-time GRAMMY award-winning gospel artist, CeCe Winans is featured on “Great is Thy Faithfulness.”

“CeCe is legendary, and I’ve always admired her,” she admits. “It’s similar to the way I feel about Dolly Parton. I don’t remember the first time I heard her; I just feel like I’ve always known her.”

Although she decided to go in a different direction with the genre of this album, she didn’t forget to incorporate her Nashville roots. Several of the songs, especially “Victory in Jesus” and “Old Rugged Cross,” contain a heavy amount of banjo and steel guitar, giving it a traditional sound that is not prevalent in modern country.

Underwood’s powerhouse vocals are displayed in tracks such as “Because He Lives” and “How Great Art Thou.” The album closes with the widely covered anthem, “Amazing Grace,” first written by John Newton.

Underwood’s talent, versatility, and immense stardom has led to her charting on country, pop, holiday, and Christian radio. In what was a difficult 12 months for most, her goal was to spread some positivity in time for Easter through the grace of God.

“It just feels so good to get to sing these songs, and I feel so fortunate to have spent the past year with these beautiful, inspirational messages,” she said. “I hope people will hear the heart that’s in this album.”

Carrie Underwood’s ‘My Savior: Live From The Ryman’ is set for Easter Sunday, April 4th

Carrie Underwood’s ‘My Savior: Live From The Ryman’ is set for Easter Sunday, April 4th

Underwood will perform a special virtual concert featuring these songs, live from The Ryman on Easter Sunday, April 4th. The event is free to stream, but donations collected during the viewing will go to Save the Children, a leading global humanitarian organization working to improve education, economic, and healthcare opportunities for children around the world.

My Savior Tracklist:

  1. Jesus Loves Me
  2. Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus
  3. Blessed Assurance
  4. Just As I Am
  5. Victory in Jesus
  6. Great Is Thy Faithfulness
  7. Oh How I Love Jesus
  8. How Great Thou Art
  9. Because He Lives
  10. The Old Rugged Cross
  11. I Surrender All
  12. Softly and Tenderly
  13. Amazing Grace

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Carrie Underwood releases.

To keep up with Carrie Underwood, follow her on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

My Savior is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.