Caitlyn Smith: ‘High’ – Album Review

Caitlyn Smith’s brand new album, Highis out now, April 8th on all streaming platforms. Listen to the brand new music below and check out our full review.

Caitlyn Smith is a singer-songwriter who personifies artistry. She is a uniquely talented songstress, who believes in having a hand in every part of her craft. Today, the artist releases her newest album, High.

Smith’s third album is one of her best records to date. Featuring eight tracks, the singer-songwriter knows what kind of music she wants to create. Moreover, this is the singer’s first time producing every song on the album. “Self-producing has taught me so much about trusting my own compass,” says Smith. “It has been a beautifully terrifying experience and has added a layer of vulnerability when you’re also responsible for painting the sonic landscape as an artist, in addition to writing and singing the songs.”

The record kicks off with an introduction that moves into her version of the song she wrote for Miley Cyrus, “High.” Because of how much Smith loved “High,” it was important for her to release her version of the track. Smith’s rendition is piercing, haunting, and vocally driven. With more instrumentals than Cyrus’ version, the songstress brings a whole new life to the already incredible song.

Next up is “Dreamin’s Free” and “Good As Us.” The former is a whimsical song about how important it is to believe in your dreams. Written by Smith with prolific songwriters, Shane McAnally and Lori McKenna. In the song, the vocalist opens up about how hard it has been to keep her dreams alive throughout her career.

The latter song, “Good As Us,” uses imagery in a new way. The song screams romance and nostalgia in a unique way. Similarly, on “Downtown Baby” Smith paints a picture of what love and romance truly looks like in her mind. The song is fun and provides a much-needed moment on the album.

Smith continues to show off her incredible ear for music on the next two tracks, “Nothing Against You” and “Maybe In Another Life.” On “Nothing Against You,” Smith’s emotions are palpable. It is clear she knows what yearning and hurt feel like. Despite it all, she knows love conquers all. “Maybe In Another Life” describes those same feelings, but instead of working out, the relationship is just not meant to be. Although the love was not “evergreen,” the moments were worth it.

The record ends with the mesmerizing song, “I Don’t Like The World Without You.” It is hard to describe how incredible this song truly is. Like the rest of the record, Smith proves that she is an artist that we all should pay attention to. High is a quiet masterpiece with captivating stories and relatable emotions laced throughout.

High Tracklist:

  1. High – Intro
  2. High
  3. Dreamin’s Free
  4. Good As Us
  5. Downtown Baby
  6. Nothing Against You
  7. Maybe In Another Life
  8. I Don’t Like The World Without You

Caitlyn Smith’s new album ‘High’ is out now on all streaming platforms.

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news and announcements about future Caitlyn Smith releases.

To keep up with Caitlyn Smith, follow her on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter.

High is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.